Gingerbread Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Mal, I absolutely love this recipe. So easy yet impressive. Thanks, my friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Nice cake! I used a spice cake mix and added ginger and molasses to it (I also used the pear juice as another reviewer suggested). I had more cake batter than my cake pan would hold - and filled it a little higher than I should have, but it worked out fine and I made a few cupcakes with the leftover batter. I took this to work today and everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Good holiday flavor. My husband and I both agreed that it needed more pears. Next time, I'm planning to cover the entire bottom on the pan with the pear slices. I think that will make it look prettier too. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
tasted wonderful but looked awful! I'll make it again, but not for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANE MN
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I didn't have pears, so I sliced an apple and used that. It was very good. I would like if it had been gooier caramel top. And would use apple or pear juice instead of water next time in the cake. But very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANE MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aly D
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I'm giving this 5 stars because it was the hit of my dessert buffet for Christmas. However, I had to make a few mods. Couldn't find gingerbread cake mix, so I used the spice cake as another user suggested. I made it the day before serving which probably wasn't a great idea since the topping soaked into the cake and made it soggy. To cover that mess up, I made another batch of the syrup-sugar-butter mixture and thickened it with cornstarch, heated it and poured it over the whole thing before serving. It was definitely the hit of the night... Highly recommend the additional thickened topping even if yours comes out great to start with. That put it over the top. Thanks for the recipe. I will probably make again, but will likely thicken the original sauce as well. Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Super quick and easy to put together. Actually my fourteen year old did it. We thought it came out really bland. I used a Betty Crocker Mix. My in-laws loved it. I thought it would have much stronger gingerbread taste. So I am blaming the it on the brand of mix I used. Update: Made again for the in-laws since they liked it so much. I used Trader Joe's gingerbread cake mix and added some crystalized ginger, about 2 tablespoons. It was much better. But I tried to substitute the oil for applesauce and it was a little rubbery. Topped with a whiskey carmel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Well, this just throws off the ole diet!! Delicious cake, Mallinda!! I had to use Spice Cake instead of Gingerbread as it appeared the grocer was out of it and I took Cheepchick's suggestion of replacing some of the water for pear juice. That topping is sinfully delicious - I could eat the whole thing in one sitting, I am sure! Thanks Mallinda, this one was nice and easy even for a novice baker like myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Mallinda, this was great! That caramel was genius! My family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I loved this recipe! It was SO easy and delicious. I chopped the pecans so it didn't look as beautiful as Cheepchick's photo, but it disappeared so quickly, no one even noticed. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! Thanks Mallinda!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States