Gingerbread Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Wow! I made this for a dinner party and was told that I had outdone myself. Really great cake for the holidays. I didn't have corn syrup so I used a little bit of honey. I also used 2 cans of pears instead of one. I decided not to use a cake mix and instead made the gingerbread cake using an old fashioned gingerbread cake recipe found elsewhere on this site. Put some minced ginger in the cake for some added zing and served with the option of whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Not impressed. First day, cake was dry and just ok. Second day, the topping had soaked through and cake was a little sunken and too moist: almost soggy. Good flavor that day, but wouldn't want to serve it like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pea Ridge, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Delicious!!! I also used the pear juice from the can instead of water for the gingerbread mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I left it to cool a bit too long it seems, so when I turned it over the pears were ok, but the extra nuts I used as decoration stuck to the bottom of the pan in the sugar syrup. I'm going to try finely chopping some extra pecans and scattering them over the top to help hide the look of the top of the cake. Tastes wonderful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Twins4Us
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, but made these in a cupcake pan. They looked like tiny little cakes, very pretty, but I was the only one who actually liked them. Although, my family is too fond of gingerbread in the first place. I may try this again with a different cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twins4Us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Made this for my book club this evening. It was liked by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Timberweave
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I love to make upside down cakes. This cake was a gem to discover while looking for a last minute dessert option for an impromptu dinner party. The house smells delightful, and cake is not only seasonally appropriate, but it is a unique and tasteful addition to a tradional dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timberweave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very easy, quick and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4girls4me
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I followed recipe exactly and it turned out great. Easy to make. Hubby said it tasted like a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This cake will make you look like a superstar chef; Nobody needs to know how easy it is! I was trying to use some left over Christmas pantry ingredients and found this recipe. I'm almost sad that only my husband and I got to enjoy it, not a huge crowd. It was great, not too sweet but with a definite holiday flair. I made a few changes, but nothing major. First, I sliced the pairs to about 1/4 inch thickness and sauteed them in a skillet with some butter, adding the brown sugar and nuts so they'd be nice and crunchy. I arranged the slices covering the bottom of the dish. My cake was done after 35 minutes, maybe because the fruit was already hot, not sure really. I served it with some whipped cream. It'll definitely be an addition to my next Christmas dessert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States