Gingerbread Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Serve with pralines and cream ice cream and blueberry compote and you are on your way to fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
OK, with apologies to the allrecipes purists who hate when you don't follow the recipe exactly...I used two fresh apples, peeled and sliced instead of the pear. Also had to sub "sugar in the raw" because I didn't realize I had run out of brown sugar. I used the "Gingerbread I" recipe from this site for the cake onstead of a mix...turned out great! Wish I had some whipped cream or vanilla ice cream, that would have made it outrageous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Tastes great. But didn't turn out pretty at all. I'm not a fan of corn syrup so I substituted honey like a couple other reviewers. Maybe I used too much... I lined the pan with easy release foil because I was afraid of the sauce sticking to the pan. It didn't help. Most of the sauce is still stuck on the foil. Disappointing. Also I didn't have pears so used apples instead. But all if the apples floated up in to the cake instead of staying in the sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is easy to make, especially if you have silicon or easy-release baking forms. It would be a shame if this stuck or got torn - the fruit on top is very pretty. As another person recommended, I used honey instead of corn syrup, since I don't stock that. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maguffin42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
All I can say is YUM!!! I made this for our Thanksgiving dessert to try something a little different. I had trouble finding the gingerbread cake mix so I used the spice cake mix instead. This was absolutely delicious. I can't wait to try it with the gingerbread. Thanks for a great recipe Mallinda! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teene
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Great taste and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I just made this again tonight. Easy and delicious, especially served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellypuffs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This turned out quite good. I used a boxed spice cake mix since I had one in the pantry. I'm betting it would be even better with a homemade spice cake or homemade gingerbread cake. I omitted the pecans since I am mildly allergic to them. The main complaint I have about this recipe is that it did not fit in a 9" cake pan. I did not think it would but trusted the recipe and reviewer's comments. I had enough cake batter for a 9" cake, 6 cupcakes, and still had a little bit of batter left over. Maybe I used a bigger cake mix than the 14.5oz that the recipe called for; I didn't think to check since I thought they were all the same. I believe I used Duncan Heinz. If I make it again using that cake mix, I will probably make two 9" cakes or a 9x13" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Beautiful cake. I used canned pears and cut up one fresh pear to fill in. Personally I thought the cake was too heavy, sweet and rich and actually may have liked it more using a spice cake mix rather than the gingerbread cake mix the recipe calls for. I wouldnt make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States