Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I got 30 medium-sized pancakes out of this using a 1/4 cup to measure the batter. I made it as written except I cut the baking powder in half. Great recipe except for the baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I like gingerbread, but I find it very rich and filling. The same is true with these pancakes. I did have to thin out the batter a bit, and they may not be as "light and fluffy" as you're used to, but I was expecting that. The thing that I didn't like at all in this recipe are the hazelnuts. Couldn't really taste them (so why add them?), but mostly, I didn't like what they added to the texture of the pancake. I read the reviews, and I agree that there are some issues with ingredient amounts in this recipe. I did reduce the baking powder and oil, increased the spices, and used 3 whole eggs instead of 6 egg whites (had nothing to do with 6 egg yolks). My rating is based on how these pancakes tasted with some tweaking which ended up being pretty good. And as a side comment, the sliced bananas were really good on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These were a great idea, and after a lot of modification, they were great-tasting as well! I think there are a number of typos in the original recipe, so I came up with my own take on it. Here it is: 2 tbsp baking powder, 3 tbsp cocoa, 2 tsp ginger, 3 eggs, some extra flour, @1/2 c. to thicken to proper consistency. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
these were really good we had them with fresh whipped cream and sliced bananas. i did modify this recipe a little, we left out the hazelnuts, used 3 whole eggs, instead of 6 whites, upped the cinnamon and cloves to 1 tsp, the ginger to 2 tsp, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. after the batter was done i tasted it, uncooked and it just tasted like it needed a litts someting extra, so i added 2 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Yum! I made these for my boyfriend's almost-birthday-breakfast, and we both loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
These are pretty tasty, not as tasty as another recipe I've tried and can't find now. I halved the recipe and got 8 medium sized pancakes. I used 1 entire egg and one egg white. I used only 2 tsp of baking powder and they were still super fluffy. I also didn't have cloves or hazelnuts, but I was generous with the cinnamon and added a little bit of nutmeg (careful not more than 1tsp for half a recipe, it's strong). I also added more molasses than called for and a little b. sugar cause I over did the nutmeg. Oh yes, and of course I always add walnuts or something protein-atious to my pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This recipe rocks! Spicey and hearty. These are the pancakes you make to reward people for shoveling snow or some other cold wintertime labor. Make sure to add whipped cream on top to really wow 'em when you serve. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephBoBef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Just added the cocoa, cinnamon, cloves, ginger and molasses to pancake mix. Super easy and a nice holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These were pretty good! Definetly better than regular pancakes. Due to rolling with what I had on hand I subsituted allspice for cloves, finely grated bakers chocolate for coco powder and I used a bit of Frangelico for hazelnuts. Everyone enjoyed the flavor. I would make them again. I only gave them 4 stars cause I thought they were alot of work for what they were. But I also had to grate the chocolate and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Service Dir./Chef wantabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My husband loved these pancakes:) The kids and I thought they were o.k. I made them as directed but will definitely double the spices next time. I served these with butter and regular syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States