Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is a great recipe! Here is what I did to change it. I used my favorite pancake mix, and prepared that according to the package. It called for a cup of the mix, so I measured everything else accordingly. 1 teaspoon of the coaco powder, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp clove, (added a dash of nutmeg), and 2 tbsp molasses. I then spooned in a bit more of the pancake mix until the batter had the correct texture. They turned out so good!! My boyfriends family always does a Christmas morning pajama breakfast for friends and family. I think I will whip up the batter and take it over there to cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Contreras Murrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Although I was excited by the enticing ingredients, the final results did not find favor with me. The abundance of baking powder caused a volcano-like effct of the batter. Six extra egg yolks remaining after making pancakes seemed like a waste. In addition, two of my three kids said they liked the flavor of other pancakes I make much better. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I love gingerbread cookies so I had to try these. I've made them three times now and my family really likes them alot!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
these were really good we had them with fresh whipped cream and sliced bananas. i did modify this recipe a little, we left out the hazelnuts, used 3 whole eggs, instead of 6 whites, upped the cinnamon and cloves to 1 tsp, the ginger to 2 tsp, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. after the batter was done i tasted it, uncooked and it just tasted like it needed a litts someting extra, so i added 2 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Rating on the recipe as written, this would not have been pleasant! 6 T baking powder is way too much!!! I used 1 T, and they turned out great! I used whole wheat flour and soy milk to make these into yummy pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I assumed that 6 tablespoons of baking powder was a typo, and so used only 6 teaspoons - it was still a little salty for my tastes. I also used 3 whole eggs instead of the egg whites. I also added cardamom as someone suggested (1/2tsp cloves, 1/2 cardamom). The addition of the hazlenuts was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
My husband said 'Awesome' just like the other review said. We had it for breakfast. The only problem I had was the molasses that I had such a time getting out. I needed a new jar of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Just added the cocoa, cinnamon, cloves, ginger and molasses to pancake mix. Super easy and a nice holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
These are pretty tasty, not as tasty as another recipe I've tried and can't find now. I halved the recipe and got 8 medium sized pancakes. I used 1 entire egg and one egg white. I used only 2 tsp of baking powder and they were still super fluffy. I also didn't have cloves or hazelnuts, but I was generous with the cinnamon and added a little bit of nutmeg (careful not more than 1tsp for half a recipe, it's strong). I also added more molasses than called for and a little b. sugar cause I over did the nutmeg. Oh yes, and of course I always add walnuts or something protein-atious to my pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These were amazingly good. I was looking for a recipe that could compare to the Gingerbread Pancakes I've had at the International House of Pancakes and these are them! Even better than IHOP's version and they make a lot. Warning, they are wonderful enough by themselves, but if you have a sweet tooth, by all means add the syrup - I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States