Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Per other review I only used 2 tablespoons of baking powder and it turned out great. The kids loved it for breakfast this morning. It didn't taste as much like gingerbread as they would have liked but they still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
we cut the baking powder in half, couldn't get the hazelnuts so we didn't put them in, used 3 eggs instead of 6 egg whites and added a pinch of nutmeg. they were great with whip cream and the kids loved the red and green sprinkles. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These were amazingly good. I was looking for a recipe that could compare to the Gingerbread Pancakes I've had at the International House of Pancakes and these are them! Even better than IHOP's version and they make a lot. Warning, they are wonderful enough by themselves, but if you have a sweet tooth, by all means add the syrup - I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This recipe is good. I would double the spices next time though. We also added chocolate chips and dried cranberries. Also note that this recipe makes a lot! I scaled it back to serve 6 and ended up with 18 - 5" pancakes! Plenty to freeze and pop in the toaster for a fast breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I changed the flour to white whole wheat, used Egg Beaters With a Touch of Yolk (1/2 cup) and think the cloves is a bit much. I only made 1/2 a recipe and would suggest only about 1/4 t. cloves. The pancakes are good, but the cloves taste is too strong. Still--good. The kids had fun with chocolate chips and I put maple syrup and some more chopped hazelnuts on mine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Rating on the recipe as written, this would not have been pleasant! 6 T baking powder is way too much!!! I used 1 T, and they turned out great! I used whole wheat flour and soy milk to make these into yummy pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I must say, normally I really enjoy reading other people's suggestions and tweaking recipes accordingly. I found with this recipe that it wasn't a case of "add X and it will be even better." This recipe seems to be a disaster and needs many revisions to make the taste and texture even close to what it should be! After my MANY revisions, I couldn't even remember how I eventually got to the yummy gingerbread pancakes I ate this morning for breakfast! This is not a case of "if you can read, you can cook!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I assumed that 6 tablespoons of baking powder was a typo, and so used only 6 teaspoons - it was still a little salty for my tastes. I also used 3 whole eggs instead of the egg whites. I also added cardamom as someone suggested (1/2tsp cloves, 1/2 cardamom). The addition of the hazlenuts was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These are by far the best gingerbread pancakes I have ever made. Thanks for the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I liked these a lot, as did my parents. My husband didn't care a lot for them, but he isn't crazy about gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKPARSONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States