Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
It's amazing how the butterscotch disappears leaving behind a traditional gingerbread flavor. Nice easy recipe. The dough needed a little extra flour for rolling ... but don't almost all rolled cookies? Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
These cookies are soo yummy, especially right out of the oven. You would never know that Molasses was never used. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This recipe is delicious and turns out great every time. I add red hots for the eyes and buttons for extra cinnamon flavor. When I'm in a hurry, I roll the dough into small balls and press the balls down with the back of a greased, floured glass. Not quite as pretty but tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
These cookies were wonderful! And they made my whole house smell good. I had never tried Gingerbread Cookies before but after tasting I wont have to try another recipe. My kids loved them. We decorated with red frosting for the mouth and buttons and chocolate chips for the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I just made this recipe with my 8 year old son, it turned out SO good! My husband who will not eat gingerbread because of the molasses LOVED these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This recipe is delicious!! They're soooo easy to roll out. Instead of using flours to prevent the sticking, I rolled them between wax paper. It makes cleaning up a breeze =) I skipped the icing and frosting and made indentations instead. They came out beautiful =) I did bake them for only 8 minutes (I like my cookies on the chewy side). I wish it were Christmas everyday so I can bake these all year long. Heck, maybe I will after all... =) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This is an extremely simple and delicious recipe for gingerbread! I made them last night and my fiance loves them. However, the dough was very dry (this could have to do with the dry Arizona weather), so I had to add another egg. But, it turned out fantastic and I will definitely make it every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
These are the best gingerbread cookies. My mom has made them for years. The dough is absolutely wonderful. I would suggest underbaking slightly. This may taste good as a drop cookie. I might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This is the first time I have made gingerbread cookies. I made these with my 3 year old daughter and they were delicious. The dough was easy to work with and everyone who tasted them loved them!! We will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I used instant pudding because that was all my little grocery store had. It turned out fine. The taste is more mild than typical which is good because my kids don't usually like ginger bread. They liked these. The dough was easy to handle, roll, cut, and decorate. The cookies were sturdy but not tough. Somewhere between crispy and chewy. I will make these again. Definitely use a mixer or you won't get all the flour in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 736) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States