Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I made this recipe with my husband and son last week. I liked it very much. However, if you are looking for a true gingerbread tasting cookie, this is NOT it. I tried this recipe because I thought my 3 year old would turn his nose up to real gingerbread. I would describe this as a cross between a gingerbread cookie and a butter/sugar cookie. It was great. My cookies did not run. They looked great and tasted great. They had a nice soft texture. If you have to go out and get butterscotch pudding.....you better get one or two more boxes because we didn't get that many cookies out of this. We had a blast making them. Fun to eat too! It made a nice mild tasting gingerbread cookie. I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
608 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I have a problem with this recipe. The only liquid is butter and egg. What am I doing wrong. Am I supposed to make the pudding before adding to the rest of the recipe.. It says dry then what did I do wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
423 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Delicious! The dough was so easy to work with, not sticky and rolled out wonderfully. (That in itself really sold me on this recipe as I tend to shy away from rolled dough recipes because they are time consuming and usually the dough is a hassle.) I did increase the cinnamon and ginger to taste and added cloves for a spicer cookie. I also used the instant pudding instead of the cook-and-serve and they turned out great. I did double the recipe and used half margarine and half butter. Baked 8-9 minutes instead of the 10-12 resulting in a softer chewier version of this classic. You definitely taste the butterscotch which I found to be a surprisingly pleasant alternative, and I liked the fact that it didn't use molasses. I cut-out various sizes of large, medium and small little buddies and decorated them with raisins and white piped icing and they came out adorable! Thanks for sharing Kim and this one is going in my family favorites cookbook~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUTUMNJOY
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
this is the perfect gingerbread man recipe for children! i brought these to a cookie exchange party last year and the kids gobbled these right up but snubbed the traditional gingerbread men that were very spicy. i decorated the cookies with a very simple design made out of the following vanilla icing/glaze: combine 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 1/2 tablespoons softened butter, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 3-4 tablesppons of milk and stir until smooth and well blended. adjust for spreading or piping consistency by adding more milk or powdered sugar. i put the icing in a gallon food storage bag and took a tiny tiny snip off one of the corners of the bag and pipped two eyes, a smile, squiggly lines at the hands and feet, and three buttons topped with cinnamon red candies. make sure you let the cookies sit out so the icing hardens before stacking for storage or putting on the cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I used instant pudding because that was all my little grocery store had. It turned out fine. The taste is more mild than typical which is good because my kids don't usually like ginger bread. They liked these. The dough was easy to handle, roll, cut, and decorate. The cookies were sturdy but not tough. Somewhere between crispy and chewy. I will make these again. Definitely use a mixer or you won't get all the flour in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is easy & makes a nice dough for cutting. My kids love them. I found that 10 minutes was too long to bake, 8-9 made a slightly softer cookie with better flavor. I melted white & milk chocolate chips (separately) and dipped the pants of the gingerbread man into the chocolate. What a hit for a cookie exchange! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Fantastic Cookie! I wasn't sure about making a gingerbread cookie that didn't have molasses as an ingredient. However, I love butterscotch-anything and, after reading the other reviews, I thought I'd give this recipe a chance. I'm so glad that I did! YUMMY!!! Very easy to work with, even my neighbor's young children were able to roll these out and cut them. I served them at a Christmas party last year with many other cookies. These were the first to go and when I asked my guests to take cookies with them as they left, they all wanted to know where my "secret stash" of these were hidden. I appeased them by printing out copies of this recipe. Thank you, Kim for a delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This is the first rolled cookie I've ever made (I'm not a baker:) and I think it turned out great! Super easy recipe and not too many ingredients. I was a little freaked after creaming the butter, sugar and pudding mix because it was crumbly and not Creamy. but after adding the flour with the mixer, I just pressed it into a ball and chilled. Turned out fine. also I only cooked them 8-9 minutes. 10-11 was too long. This is a wonderful recipe for a first timer like myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestline, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
These are the best gingerbread cookies. My mom has made them for years. The dough is absolutely wonderful. I would suggest underbaking slightly. This may taste good as a drop cookie. I might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Not a bad recipe, especially with the buttercotch mix and omitting of sticky molasses. Initially, after combining both the dry and moist mixture, the dough was VERY DRY. DO NOT GET DISHEARTENED!! Keep rolling the dough around--I had to get into it with my hand and finally it started to come together. I only refrigerated for about fifteen minutes in the coldest part of my fridge (I wouldn't hesitate to put it in the freezer for about ten minutes either) before rolling it out. I also noticed some red streaks in the dough; anybody else?? Not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States