Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Used this recipe with the wilton gingerbread pan I purchased a few years ago. Followed recipe exactly and baked for 12 minutes. Got thumbs up from grandson...age 6 and hubby....really old!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
These are delicious and so much fun to make. They have just enough ginger to get the flavor but are not overpowering like many gingerbread cookies. My children love to help make the shapes, and this dough works well whether you want a crispy cookie or a cookie that stays soft, depending on your cooking time. I have requests for these every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANISAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
tried this recipe and it is great! I doubled the recipe and added 1/2 tsp more ginger than called for and they turned out delicious plain, without any sweet icing or chocolate decorating the top!Will be making these for my daughters class Christmas party and decorating like reindeer. Baked for 8 1/2 minutes turned out soft yet firm with a crunchy edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I was in a rush and requested to make gingerbread cookies so this recipe was great for me. This rolled out easily without stickiness and very easy to cut out and position. I did bake them for only 8 minutes on the second tray and liked them a tad softer. I doubled the recipe and glad I did as the yield was much better. I did add clove and nutmeg to the fold for a bit more traditional flavor. I will certainly be making these again to add to our Christmas cookie platter. Thanks for sharing this Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made the dough and left it for my four kids (10, 5, 3, and 2 years old) to make with the babysitter while my husband and I went out with friends. There wasn't much left for us when we returned home! Everyone loved them. I'll agree that they aren't a "true" gingerbread recipe, but that's been established already. They tasted pretty darned close - just a milder, lighter version. Will definitely make again - a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLaLaurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I really loved these cookies. I messed up and rolled the first batch a little too thin... They still tasted great but where more like crackers. However the 2nd batch into the oven were amazing. I will take what is left with me to work tomorrow or I'll eat the whole batch myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Love this recipe! I make this every year. The dough is easy to work with and though I don't care for butterscotch pudding, you wouldn't even know it's in there. It has a wonderful flavor for those who love gingerbread, and even those who aren't especially fond of gingerbread love this recipe. Thank you for posting. This would also work great for gingerbread houses as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
absolutely delicious! however, I did add a teaspoon baking power, added some vanilla pudding as well as butterscotch, and added a teaspoon pumpkin spice to the recipe and it was spectacular. Plus, this recipe yields the perfect amount of cookies and its pretty easy :)i recommended chocolate ganache on them :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Excellent! I made these with my kids (ages 5 and 2). They loved the taste. Not too spicey. I even added a touch more cinnamon and ginger and a dash of clove to make sure they were 'ginger' flavored! The only problem I had was that the dough was VERY sticky. I ended up adding another cup of flour to get the dough to come to a ball and probably another 1/2-3/4 cup to be able to roll them out after chilling and only working with small amounts of dough at a time. Thinnly rolled,this made almost 4 dozen cookies for us! They are very sturdy and great for decorating. If you want a softer cookie, roll them thicker and watch closely as they bake. I only baked ours for 5-6 min at 325. Definately a Holiday keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
So easy and most of all delicious. I made the dough in advance and rolled it between wax paper and froze it. When my angel grandchildren come over all we have to do is cut out and bake! Thank you for the best gingerbread. The pudding gives it a mild taste and not overwhelming like it is when mollases is used! This is our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States