Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I absolutely love the reindeer design, but I couldn't match the look with what I had - couldn't match the glow, rather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I honestly was worried that I wouldn't be able to work with the dough since it seemed very crumbly. But everything worked out, and they came out great, although I would bake them for 8-9 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I found the dough to be overly sticky, and small in quantity. My kids didn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23kids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Not sure what I did wrong, but in my case the "dough" was super sticky, I've never done cookies before so was excited to try it with my daughter, but she's like mom we're a FAIL...lol. Followed the instructions and all the same ingredients, but it was all guey on the roller, i salvaged what I could and just put some odd shaped scoops in the oven! We did like the flavor, but were unable to shape the little gingerbread men :( I did make it again because I had more of the ingredients left, but this time i didnt attempt to roll anything, just put scoops in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was a good cookie, moist and delicious, held up great during decorating. However, if you are looking for a "True tasting" Gingerbread cookie, this cookie misses the mark. I will make these again for an alternative cookie, but I will stick to a more traditional recipe for gingerbread cookies as I love true gingerbread flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I think I did something wrong cause it comes out very dry, add the milk to the pudding or what? I later added the milk and they came out like cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
LOVE this! So easy and tastes great. The dough does appear very dry and crumbly. Don't get discouraged! I used my hands to ball up and then refrigerated for 1 hour. Turned out perfect. Agree with other reviewers, 9 minutes was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love the simplicity of this recipe. Quick to make, rolled nicely, smells great, and mild tasting but didn't hold up its shape like I wanted to especially the xmas trees. It almost formed a triangle lol. I probably didn't measure my flour right or maybe it needed more like 1/4+ cup? It's okay though, it's delicious and soft. I made 14 3" cut outs and 7 tablespoon drop cookies (rolled in sugar and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is the best cookie dough I have ever worked with. I did not have any problem with it being too dry; I attribute this to using butter that has been left out overnight. These cookies are firm but stay chewy and soft after baking and are perfect for decorating. The recipe is fantastic as-is, and also makes a fabulous base for any flavor of rolled cookie. You can use vanilla pudding mix, swap white sugar for the brown and nix the spices for a standard sugar cookie dough that will not get too sticky while rolling out. If I'm making spice cookies, I substitute nutmeg for the ginger and add a 1/4 tsp. of ground cloves. As others have pointed out, you can save yourself lots of frustration by rolling & cutting your dough on a sheet of parchment paper. Peel away the scraps between cookies and slap the whole sheet onto your pan for super easy and even baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I have made this for 5 years running. It's so simple to do, yet festive and delish. I have found that using INSTANT pudding makes this dough far less sticky and easier to work with - not sure why, but it made a remarkable difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States