Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
MMMMmazing! Very good flavor. I followed the recipe to a T except added 1/8ts more ginger and cinnamon. At first I thought I was going to need to add milk to the mixture but after a while it started to come together and form a dough. You have to really mix it well, continue mixing it, and it will form into a dough. I did refrigerate for an hour and it got hard enough to roll out, but it does soften up real quick after taking it out. Our gingerbread men did not come out so cute. They spread out on the pan a lot. Still resembled gingerbread men though. I also made a few round cookies and I think this recipe suites them better than gingerbread men. This recipe says it makes 30 gingerbread men....No way. there is very little dough when it's all mixed together. I got 18 cookies out of using a small cookie cutter, which gave me 12 gingerbread men cookies, and the other 6 were round cookies I made making small balls and flattening them down a little. Pros: taste great, chewy cookies, easy to make, just a few cheap ingredients. Cons: because they are soft, they don't form very well into shapes. ie: gingerbread men, rolling it out was a little tricky too bc the dough has to be hard or it will be too sticky to roll so definatley refridgerate for an hour. Tips If your cookies spread out too much too try, 50/50 butter and margerin, use baking powder instead of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Yummmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Love this recipe. It is kid friendly, all four of my kids loved it! A lighter gingerbread flavor. And the dough was easy to work. :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Just made these cookies!!!! They were very good. I'm not a gingerbread cookie fan but when my 4 year son requested that I make some...I found this recipe and it didn't disappoint. My son has eaten 4 so far tonight. I followed the recipe directly as written. The only thing I did differently was bake them for 8-9 minutes and I used instant butterscotch pudding. Very good cookie...will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
It was ok, not so great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I used this recipe to make gingerbread men cookies with my 23 kindergartners. It was very easy to mix (they did the mixing). It rolled out easily and baked beautifully. The kids loved them. Everyone liked them. That's a rarity with a class of kindergartners. I would really give this 4 1/2 stars. I like a cut out cookie to get a tad bit firmer, but maybe I would try baking a minute or two longer. The flavor was great! I loved that I didn't have to buy molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I like the taste of the recipe, but had a hard time with the dough. Even after an hour in the fridge, it was still soft. I split it into 4ths and put in freezer. I left the others in the freezer while I worked with it a section at a time. I could not get them off of my silpat, so I rolled out on there, cut them and left them there to bake. Even after 2 roll outs, the dough was sticky. When I made this recipe, it only yielded 20 cookies. I needed 30 for my son's class and didn't buy anymore butterscotch pudding, so I guess we will have to just eat them and I will make them something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRIAM01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
we love these. My girls ask me to make them year-round. easy, very tasty & fun for kids to help & decorate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I missed the molasses of traditional gingerbread but this is a great, mild kid-friendly version. I made the recipe as written and had no trouble working with the dough as others did. I used my 1/4" rolling pin rings and used confectioners sugar to roll it in as well as parchment paper on the pans. 100% success. Iced with lemon flavoring...delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Terrific cookie! Easy to mix and decorate. Will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States