Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
We will make these every year. Last year was the first time we tried this recipe. It was a huge hit with the kids, the family and friends. This year I have recieved many request for these cookies. They are the BEST ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made these cookies tonight and my husband and son immediately started eating them! They were a big hit!!! The cookies were the softest (as my family likes them) when I rolled the dough out a little on the thick side and baked for 10 minutes. I used Royal Icing to decorate them - very cute! Perfect for my son who is a very picky eater. These cookies were more on the sweet side and a little lighter on the spices, just as we like them. Delicious! I'm sure I'll be making another batch soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Wow!!! These are really good and soft too. I told my friend about the recipe and she wants to try it too. Who woulda thought pudding would make such great cookies?!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
As other reviewers noted, this is a very mild gingerbread recipe. For me they were perfect because I prefer them with less spice. If you like a traditional gingersnap, you may want to find a different recipe. I thought the dough worked up perfectly. It was the perfect consistency and rolled out nicely. As a final note, I only cooked mine for 6 minutes and they came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MT Girl
Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Fantastic recipe and lots of fun to make with my 4 year old!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
MMMMmazing! Very good flavor. I followed the recipe to a T except added 1/8ts more ginger and cinnamon. At first I thought I was going to need to add milk to the mixture but after a while it started to come together and form a dough. You have to really mix it well, continue mixing it, and it will form into a dough. I did refrigerate for an hour and it got hard enough to roll out, but it does soften up real quick after taking it out. Our gingerbread men did not come out so cute. They spread out on the pan a lot. Still resembled gingerbread men though. I also made a few round cookies and I think this recipe suites them better than gingerbread men. This recipe says it makes 30 gingerbread men....No way. there is very little dough when it's all mixed together. I got 18 cookies out of using a small cookie cutter, which gave me 12 gingerbread men cookies, and the other 6 were round cookies I made making small balls and flattening them down a little. Pros: taste great, chewy cookies, easy to make, just a few cheap ingredients. Cons: because they are soft, they don't form very well into shapes. ie: gingerbread men, rolling it out was a little tricky too bc the dough has to be hard or it will be too sticky to roll so definatley refridgerate for an hour. Tips If your cookies spread out too much too try, 50/50 butter and margerin, use baking powder instead of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Yummmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Love this recipe. It is kid friendly, all four of my kids loved it! A lighter gingerbread flavor. And the dough was easy to work. :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Just made these cookies!!!! They were very good. I'm not a gingerbread cookie fan but when my 4 year son requested that I make some...I found this recipe and it didn't disappoint. My son has eaten 4 so far tonight. I followed the recipe directly as written. The only thing I did differently was bake them for 8-9 minutes and I used instant butterscotch pudding. Very good cookie...will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
It was ok, not so great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States