Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
These are the best gingerbread cookies. My mom has made them for years. The dough is absolutely wonderful. I would suggest underbaking slightly. This may taste good as a drop cookie. I might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
These cookies are soo yummy, especially right out of the oven. You would never know that Molasses was never used. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This recipe is a nice addition to my Christmas cookie list. I should have doubled the batch, but plan to make more. Should be a lot of fun to decorate. I couldn't keep my 4-year-old from eating them!Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
It's amazing how the butterscotch disappears leaving behind a traditional gingerbread flavor. Nice easy recipe. The dough needed a little extra flour for rolling ... but don't almost all rolled cookies? Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
These cookies were wonderful! And they made my whole house smell good. I had never tried Gingerbread Cookies before but after tasting I wont have to try another recipe. My kids loved them. We decorated with red frosting for the mouth and buttons and chocolate chips for the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I added jus a touch of sugar and decreased the baking soda by a tad, and they were easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This recipe is delicious and turns out great every time. I add red hots for the eyes and buttons for extra cinnamon flavor. When I'm in a hurry, I roll the dough into small balls and press the balls down with the back of a greased, floured glass. Not quite as pretty but tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This is the first time I have made gingerbread cookies. I made these with my 3 year old daughter and they were delicious. The dough was easy to work with and everyone who tasted them loved them!! We will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I used instant pudding because that was all my little grocery store had. It turned out fine. The taste is more mild than typical which is good because my kids don't usually like ginger bread. They liked these. The dough was easy to handle, roll, cut, and decorate. The cookies were sturdy but not tough. Somewhere between crispy and chewy. I will make these again. Definitely use a mixer or you won't get all the flour in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is easy & makes a nice dough for cutting. My kids love them. I found that 10 minutes was too long to bake, 8-9 made a slightly softer cookie with better flavor. I melted white & milk chocolate chips (separately) and dipped the pants of the gingerbread man into the chocolate. What a hit for a cookie exchange! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 732) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States