Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Excellent! I made these with my kids (ages 5 and 2). They loved the taste. Not too spicey. I even added a touch more cinnamon and ginger and a dash of clove to make sure they were 'ginger' flavored! The only problem I had was that the dough was VERY sticky. I ended up adding another cup of flour to get the dough to come to a ball and probably another 1/2-3/4 cup to be able to roll them out after chilling and only working with small amounts of dough at a time. Thinnly rolled,this made almost 4 dozen cookies for us! They are very sturdy and great for decorating. If you want a softer cookie, roll them thicker and watch closely as they bake. I only baked ours for 5-6 min at 325. Definately a Holiday keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
So easy and most of all delicious. I made the dough in advance and rolled it between wax paper and froze it. When my angel grandchildren come over all we have to do is cut out and bake! Thank you for the best gingerbread. The pudding gives it a mild taste and not overwhelming like it is when mollases is used! This is our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I tried this recipe last year, and was so excited to make ginger bread boys like I remembered. We were all getting together for Christmas cookie baking, and I was out of time, so my daughter found this recipe online and picked up the ingredients for me. I didn't know till then that there were no molasses in the recipe. It is a pretty good cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Recipe good and easy, Next time I will roll out to 1/4 inch. Liked the crispiness and I think the grandchildren will like them. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Love this recipe. I have a sensitive tummy, and most gingerbread is too strong for me. Now, with this I feel like Goldilocks, Juuuuuuuust right! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Would like to make these just wondering what was used to decorate the reindeer,they are so cute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I was so disappointed with these! I had followed the receipe step by step and they did NOT turn out at all. I will not try these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This recipe was wonderfully easy and tasty. Make life easier and neater. Don't flour the rolling surface or rolling pin. Roll between two sheets of parchment paper. Remove top sheet, remove dough scraps. Place bottom sheet, with cookies, directly on cookie sheet. No need to grease pan. When baked, put sheet of cookies on cooling rack. No broken arms or legs falling through the cracks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Sorry, but I found these cookies to be dry and tasteless. Just putting ginger in a cookie recipe doesn’t make a Gingerbread cookie! There are many really good Gingerbread cookie recipes out there, and they don’t take any longer to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOLeah
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
LOVE this recipe! I followed the directions exactly and these came out great. My husband isn't a huge fan of the overwhelmingly spicy ginger cookies and these were a little more mild but still had that ginger flavor. The dough came out perfect, I seem to have a lot of problems making cookie dough workable, but not this time! I hand decorated them with homeade Royal icing. Delicious and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yates Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 716) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States