Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a great cookie for everyone. I made a double batch and got 36 5-inch gingerbread cut-outs. I started with a portion of dough, leaded in a little more flour before I started rolling it out. Rerolled the scraps with another portion of dough. At the end I added the last scraps to the final baking sheet. Tastes great, easy to work with, and makes the house smell like the holidays! ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I was a little reluctant to try this recipe with the boxed pudding bat am glad I did! I have three teen aged grandsons and two sons-in-law who LOVED these! Most liked them plain from the oven. One liked them liberally dusted in powdered sugar. We rolled and cut out the first batch but they went so fast that I simply rolled the dough into a log, chilled it to firm it and sliced it into 1/4" discs. The boys didn't even notice! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
They make gingerbread pudding, you know. I'm gonna try this recipe with that this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRICIA20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Boy, I feel like I missed something. I found the dough to be crumbly, a little challenging to roll out; when I opted for the 8 minute timer, I found some of the thicker cookies underdone, when I applied a longer time, they became very crispy and most important, all very bland. I was opting for a gingerbread version that wasn't as spicey, but this cookie is really very bland. Dry, cripsy and bland. Different strokes for different folks, I suppose. I'm going to attempt to cover them in icing to see if the additional moisture will help to soften and spark some life, but I think I might actually throw these out. Don't want anybody to break a tooth or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I used this recipe to make gingerbread houses it worked great and my kids love the taste. They never cared for the taste of regular gingerbread. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I make this recipe every year now for Christmas! The cookies taste so great! Better than the ones we can get at the local bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Made over 100 of these cookies last night for a cookie party I'm going to tonight...I picked the recipe because it seemed simple and they were! So easy to handle and make. They are FANTASTIC! The dough was extremely easy to work with. I don't really understand what those who said the dough was flaky and impossible to work with did wrong...They also had a great gingery flavor without being overwhelming. My boyfriend loved them and loved helping me decorate. He wants to make gingerbread houses now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Like this one going to make them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I'm not a big gingerbread fan, but I made it for my family because they love it. Had a little bite and really enjoyed it since the ginger wasn't as strong as the traditional ginger cookie recipes. I also used instant pudding since my store didn't carry the cook and serve and it still turned out. I will b using this recipe from now on. I might try vanilla pudding next time to see the difference with the cook and serve makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Very precise but the music was very annoying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States