Gingerbread Men Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erinlyn
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious. I rolled them a bit thicker (1/3" maybe?) because I like them softer. I frosted them with buttercream frosting and decorated with gumdrops, they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I love this recipe! Best gingerbread recipe I have found yet! Created this minues the molasses and nutmeg, used demerara sugar instead of brown and didn't do the 4 hour refridgeration wait - but they still came out wonderfully! I would recommend an extra five minutes in the oven, just to make sure they bake through properly. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was my first attempt ever at gingerbread. I refrigerated it for 1.5 days because I got busy, and the dough kept well wrapped in plastic wrap. YUMMY flavor--my 2.5-year-old and I both love them! I didn't have enough molasses on hand, so I used probably about 2 Tbsp of corn syrup to make up for what I was missing. It didn't seem to cause a problem. For the other gingerbread virgins out there, here is my advice: first of all, when you take the dough out of the fridge, it will seem rock hard. Don't panic, it softens as you roll it. Only roll out 1/2 at a time as it gets very soft, very fast. Second of all, don't forget to MOVE the cookies to a wire rack after 1-2 minutes as listed. I got busy with my toddler and forgot, and my first batch stuck pretty good to my cookie sheets. I had to be careful to not crack them to pieces when removing them. With the next batches, I removed them after 1 minute with no problems at all. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This fantastic recipe is a favorite of my cooking students! The balance of spices and flavors is perfect and the "men" turn out just right each time we make them. To complete this recipe in 1.5 hours we patted the dough onto a Corelle dinner plate and put it in the freezer for 15-20 minutes. This thinner layer of dough chills quickly making the men easy to roll out and cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
A tasty, easy fun Saturday (with my grandson) we used the royal icing recipie with cream of tarter & 2 egg whites to go with this and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susanpetros

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
The recipe is a 5. The only thing I changed was the molasses, used on 3/4 cup. The spices I played with too added a pinch more of cinnamon and nutmeg. Made this for my daughters kinder class for them to decorate. The kids loved them! I had never made gingerbread cookies before now i've found a recipe for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARB VACCHIERI
Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I don't cut these out or chill the dough. I roll the dough into small balls and roll in sugar. I use a small glass dipped in sugar and flatten them out. I bake them right away and call them Molasses cookies.I wanted a recipe that called for butter and not shortening.This recipe turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great recipe! Ran out of molasses and used honey for the rest. Worked Fine. We also used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups of white. There were no complaints. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I always have trouble with gingerbread men, but I love them so I was pleased when these turned out perfectly! Mine may have been slightly thicker than 1/4", and I baked them for 10 minutes. They were just right - soft and chewy. This will be my go to recipe and I expect to have gret success with gingerbread from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States