Gingerbread Men Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was my first attempt ever at gingerbread. I refrigerated it for 1.5 days because I got busy, and the dough kept well wrapped in plastic wrap. YUMMY flavor--my 2.5-year-old and I both love them! I didn't have enough molasses on hand, so I used probably about 2 Tbsp of corn syrup to make up for what I was missing. It didn't seem to cause a problem. For the other gingerbread virgins out there, here is my advice: first of all, when you take the dough out of the fridge, it will seem rock hard. Don't panic, it softens as you roll it. Only roll out 1/2 at a time as it gets very soft, very fast. Second of all, don't forget to MOVE the cookies to a wire rack after 1-2 minutes as listed. I got busy with my toddler and forgot, and my first batch stuck pretty good to my cookie sheets. I had to be careful to not crack them to pieces when removing them. With the next batches, I removed them after 1 minute with no problems at all. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Made these last Christmas. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Just to add to my last review - I cooked the cookies for about 5 minutes longer, making them crunchy rather than soft. The molasses aren't so overpowering anymore. Now I can't stop eating them! I would use less molasses, more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Exactly what I was looking for. The taste and texture are great and the dough is SO easy to work with. After making 8 batches of sugar cookies it was so nice to move to this dough which rolled and sliced so easily. I am an expert baker and I really love this dough! You can up the spice if you are looking for something super spice-laden, but this one is great for kids. A tip for molasses: spray the measuring cup with cooking spray and the molasses just slides right out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This fantastic recipe is a favorite of my cooking students! The balance of spices and flavors is perfect and the "men" turn out just right each time we make them. To complete this recipe in 1.5 hours we patted the dough onto a Corelle dinner plate and put it in the freezer for 15-20 minutes. This thinner layer of dough chills quickly making the men easy to roll out and cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I don't cut these out or chill the dough. I roll the dough into small balls and roll in sugar. I use a small glass dipped in sugar and flatten them out. I bake them right away and call them Molasses cookies.I wanted a recipe that called for butter and not shortening.This recipe turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pauline
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipe is delicious and the dough was easy to work with! To avoid rolling out the dough too many times and inevitably adding more flour, I separated the dough into 3 flattened disks before wrapping and refrigerating them. After an hour, I took the dough out of the fridge and rolled out each disk until they were the right thickness (for me, about half a centimeter). I then re-wrapped each disk in plastic and refrigerated them overnight. The next day, I simply unwrapped the disks, placed them onto my floured counter and cut out the gingerbread men!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this recipe two days before Christmas. Followed recipe exactly. These were the best. Throwing away any previous recipes I had for gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I have tried this recipe twice and both times the dough turns out very dry and crumbly. I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I've made this recipe twice now, and the cookies were a huge hit both times. I personally love the cookie because I think it is the perfect incarnation of what a gingerbread man cookie should be. They are firm, but still cakey enough. The consistency is perfect, and they are packed with flavor. Highly recommended. Don't alter anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States