Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These gingerbread men are not for the faint of heart. In fact, I make my with blackstrap molasses in order to make them even spicier. I make these at Christmas time, and every year, before baking time comes, I get requests, in order to make sure that they'll appear on the plates I make up. This recipe is great if you like your gingerbread to be of the more old-fashioned variety rather than the sweet. I'm so very glad that I found this recipe. It's a wonderful tradition now in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I added cinnamon to make them spicier, and applesauce in the place of some molasses. I forgot to chill the dough, which didn't seem to have too much of an adverse effect. A word of caution: the cookies came out of the oven squishy after 12 minutes, but hardened a ton as they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
They were a bit too dark and treacley (?) for me. Next time I will use golden syprup instead of Molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I almost gave this recipe a 5, but held back because they were a little difficult to roll out - I tried rolling them out on floured parchment with the thought to take off the extra and then bake on the parchment - but the dough was very sticky. It did much better on a floured pastry cloth and then transfered to the parchment lined cookie sheet. Also sprinkle on extra flour as you roll it out( i may add a little more flour to the recipe next time, but you will still need some when rolling. I also added 1/4 teaspoon each of ground cloves and nutmeg with the other spices for a little more kick. They taste wonderful. Mine are possibly a little thinner than a 1/4 inch because I like a little crunch -but the thicker one a just a little bit chewy which is good too! I used minature tree and gb boy cookie cutters and they are so cute -one bite cookies. I did not use the raisins, but used Sugar Cookie Icing from this site - using a #3 decorating tip to dot and drizzle the icing(you could also use a freezer ziploc bag with the corner cut out, but you will have less control). I will be making these again - and if I could I would give them a 4 3/4 stars. My 20 year old son says he doesn't like ginger bread and he gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
WOW! These came out great as a gluten free cookie! We used 2c soy flour and 1 1/2 c white rice flour. Awesome! Stuck the dough in the freezer for about 20 minutes and it worked fantastically! Easy to cut too, we did them by hand and with a little flour dusting every now and again and a clean knife, it was really easy to work. Will definitely make these again, and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!! We're eating them as we type (with one hand). For the topping we (Jess) found the Royal Icing III... highly recommended! We couldn't wait the recommended 24 hours to chill the cookies, so we stuck them in the freezer for 10 minutes... I think 15 minutes would have worked better... but the cookies were awesome, no ill-side effects to the freezer treatment. This is our new gingerbread cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I have made this with my kids twice and we all loved them. The second time I substituted the molasses with golden syrup and preferred it, but both times were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Found the dough way too dry; had to add closer to 1/2 cup water. Perhaps the ingredient portions need some adjustments? The taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
These are the way I remembered them as a child. I love this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
love this! the only good, easy, chewy gingerbread recipe i ever found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States