Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
They were a bit too dark and treacley (?) for me. Next time I will use golden syprup instead of Molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These gingerbread men are not for the faint of heart. In fact, I make my with blackstrap molasses in order to make them even spicier. I make these at Christmas time, and every year, before baking time comes, I get requests, in order to make sure that they'll appear on the plates I make up. This recipe is great if you like your gingerbread to be of the more old-fashioned variety rather than the sweet. I'm so very glad that I found this recipe. It's a wonderful tradition now in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I have made this with my kids twice and we all loved them. The second time I substituted the molasses with golden syrup and preferred it, but both times were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I added cinnamon to make them spicier, and applesauce in the place of some molasses. I forgot to chill the dough, which didn't seem to have too much of an adverse effect. A word of caution: the cookies came out of the oven squishy after 12 minutes, but hardened a ton as they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
WOW! These came out great as a gluten free cookie! We used 2c soy flour and 1 1/2 c white rice flour. Awesome! Stuck the dough in the freezer for about 20 minutes and it worked fantastically! Easy to cut too, we did them by hand and with a little flour dusting every now and again and a clean knife, it was really easy to work. Will definitely make these again, and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Found the dough way too dry; had to add closer to 1/2 cup water. Perhaps the ingredient portions need some adjustments? The taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
love this! the only good, easy, chewy gingerbread recipe i ever found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe was great! I really enjoyed making my first batch of gingerbread men with my 2 year old daughter. I used parchment paper instead of greasing the pan and didn't burn a single cookie! I will use this simple recipe year after year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
These are the way I remembered them as a child. I love this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was easy and they turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly. My 5yr old had a blast decorating - and now eating - them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZBURAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States