Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This dish is so yuumy. We served it at your holiday party and many of our guests asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I almost gave this recipe a 5, but held back because they were a little difficult to roll out - I tried rolling them out on floured parchment with the thought to take off the extra and then bake on the parchment - but the dough was very sticky. It did much better on a floured pastry cloth and then transfered to the parchment lined cookie sheet. Also sprinkle on extra flour as you roll it out( i may add a little more flour to the recipe next time, but you will still need some when rolling. I also added 1/4 teaspoon each of ground cloves and nutmeg with the other spices for a little more kick. They taste wonderful. Mine are possibly a little thinner than a 1/4 inch because I like a little crunch -but the thicker one a just a little bit chewy which is good too! I used minature tree and gb boy cookie cutters and they are so cute -one bite cookies. I did not use the raisins, but used Sugar Cookie Icing from this site - using a #3 decorating tip to dot and drizzle the icing(you could also use a freezer ziploc bag with the corner cut out, but you will have less control). I will be making these again - and if I could I would give them a 4 3/4 stars. My 20 year old son says he doesn't like ginger bread and he gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!! We're eating them as we type (with one hand). For the topping we (Jess) found the Royal Icing III... highly recommended! We couldn't wait the recommended 24 hours to chill the cookies, so we stuck them in the freezer for 10 minutes... I think 15 minutes would have worked better... but the cookies were awesome, no ill-side effects to the freezer treatment. This is our new gingerbread cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I love this recipe and my kids love it too. i only put 1/2 tsp of ginger in it though because i do not like it too strong. it is VERY easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was easy and they turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly. My 5yr old had a blast decorating - and now eating - them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZBURAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
These are the way I remembered them as a child. I love this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe was great! I really enjoyed making my first batch of gingerbread men with my 2 year old daughter. I used parchment paper instead of greasing the pan and didn't burn a single cookie! I will use this simple recipe year after year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
love this! the only good, easy, chewy gingerbread recipe i ever found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Found the dough way too dry; had to add closer to 1/2 cup water. Perhaps the ingredient portions need some adjustments? The taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
WOW! These came out great as a gluten free cookie! We used 2c soy flour and 1 1/2 c white rice flour. Awesome! Stuck the dough in the freezer for about 20 minutes and it worked fantastically! Easy to cut too, we did them by hand and with a little flour dusting every now and again and a clean knife, it was really easy to work. Will definitely make these again, and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States