Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by spacedcowgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Just made a batch of this to use as a gingerbread house. I followed the recipe to the letter except I didn't let it sit 24 hours I just let it sit 3 hours (which was fine.) The cookies taste very good, a little bland actually - you could certainly use more cinnamon & ginger. The pieces are hard enough to use as a gingerbread house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Classic gingerbread recipe, but if you are looking for a cookie that tastes like a Pepperidge Farm type, this isn't the recipe for you. It is not sweet, but mildly spicy. Crisps up nicely on racks. Next time I will use blackstrap molasses and up the spices as I like a REALLY intense gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
i doubled the recipe and it was wonderful! It made sturdy walls for our gingerbread house and it also made great cookies. I had to play with the time depending on the pieces, but it was a great recipe! they tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very good recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfectly. Makes a lot of cookies. Next time I think I'll halve it. We couldn't wait to eat them right away, so we baked a few as drop cookies and then chilled the rest until we were ready to roll them out. They were good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
When i made these i did it with the help of my four year old nefue and not all of them made it out of the decoration stage. basicly they were the best gingerbread cookies i'v ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Gingerbread men for everyone at christmas. This recipe was perfect. My first attempt at gingerbread men was a HUGE success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Amherst, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made these at Christmas and I personally like the taste of molasses and less sugar. Unfortunately my kids wouldn't eat them. I prefer them thin and crispy rather than thick and soft. Next time I will use honey and a bit more sugar for the kids. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Okay recipe--came out with serviceable gingerbread men. The dough was VERY sticky (had to roll it between wax paper in the end), but that part was my own fault for not chilling it a full 24 hours. Overall the recipe lacked spice, and I thought the cookie itself was pretty dry and slightly tasteless, even after a day in an airtight container to soften the cookie and let the spice flavors blend. Will keep looking for a gingerbread man recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
We all loved these as they have a real gingerbread flavor. I did add another tsp of ginger though as we like our spices. I'm going to go and make some more now as my lads have eaten them all. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
WAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States