Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Excellent spicy cookie, good for making shapes with. My complaint is that the dough is very sticky, so roll it on parchment paper or it'll stick to the table even with a layer of flour. I added a 1/2 tsp cloves, with good results. My taste tester approved of the flavour. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Made the best gingerbread cookies I have ever had. Made it more than twice each season because people were eating them up--more that one person mentioned they "hated gingerbread" but these cookies were fantastic. The dough was easy to work with. I used generic unsulphored molasses, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I had never made gingerbread men before. This was simple and easy. It did require a lot of elbow grease to stir the dough, but it was well worth it. Flavorful and versatility of this dough will make me use it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
fun to do with the kids. We have been using this for 3 years now. Cookies were sturdy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
We LOVE this recipe and have been using it for 2 or 3 years now. It is sturdy enough to make gingerbread houses as well and it is loved by the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
great gingerbread man with not to strong of a taste like some other recipes. Was a hit even with my husband who doesn't like gingerbread men
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I replaced the molasses with dark amber maple syrup and they still came out beautifully. Nice crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I have never had good luck with gingerbread men. This recipe was very easy to follow and the cookies came out perfectly. Sturdy enough for little hands to decorate without destruction..excellent flavor. A very big hit with everyone. I have added it to my favorites and will never use another. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make, and it does have a nice gingerbread flavor. Additionally, the dough was easy to work with (not crumbly, dry, or too fragile). However, I found the finished cookie to be too dry for my liking. I do have a gas oven which tends to cook hot, so I reduced the cooking temp to 335 for 8 minutes. My cookies came out crispy on the edges, but a little chewy in the middle. I also increased the ginger to 1 tablespoon and added 1/2 tsp of cloves, because I like a pungent gingerbread cookie. This would be a perfect construction gingerbread recipe for making a house, and it's still good enough to eat (some of the construction gingerbreads taste like cardboard- this one doesn't). However, if you really want a moist, chewy, gingerbread cookie, in my opinion, this is not the best recipe. Look for a recipe that uses butter (more fat) to make the tastiest gingerbread. I also prefer gingerbread made with brown sugar as opposed to white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Wow! (and I bake A LOT!). I have not made gingerbread cookies since I was a child and was hoping for a recipe that was similar to those I had growing up. This is not it. I don't know if it is because there is too much molasses in it or not. I saw that some reviewers substituted golden syrup. I'm sure that helps. The initial taste is ok, but the aftertaste is very unpleasant. I wish I had a better review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States