Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Really great, if you like cake like gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
It was the only recipe that actually turned out good enough to decorate! I put the dough in the freezer for about a half an hour and it was great! I love this recipe and definatly will come back to it again when i need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Nightmare on Gingerbread Lane! Be very afraid of thid recipe. First came the disjointed writing of this recipe. Ingredients are usually listed in the order that they are used in the directions. Add salt. How much? Where is it? So I got it all mixed together, and it didn't seem very dough-like. Oh, refrigerate for...24 hours??!! Never heard of dough needing that much time. I checked it at the stated time and it was more like a very thick batter. Back to the fridge for another day. I reviewed the recipe to make sure I didn't forget something, but I remembered everything, and when I checked the dishwasher, all the appropriate measuring cups were there. So after another 24 hrs. I tried to bake them. No amount of flour or parchment paper would help. After spending a time-out inthe freezer-not me, the dough, I managed to get a tray ready. Within 5 min., they were amorphous blobs, definitely not decoration worthy. I just threw them away, cookies, dough, and all. Needless to say, this recipe will be removed from my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is my go-to holiday cookie recipe! I make several batches every year, as the family, extended family, and co-workers beg for it. I do add a bit more spices - extra cinnamon, nutmeg, clove, some all-spice... Just taste the dough until it gets to the point where you are satisfied. Comes out golden and chewy, hardens to a spicy (not too-sweet) cookie - delicious with a hot cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachlean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is the second year we are using this recipe. We use Fancy Molasses, and follow the recipe exactly. These cookies ares slightly chewy if stored in a closed container, but if left out a while are crispy. These are possibly the best gingerbread cookies I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe! It was exactly the balance I was looking for between chewy and still being able to hold the shape nicely. I used the fancy molasses instead of the darker molasses and I also added about 1/2 a cup of brown sugar (just to add a little more sweetness). I found the consistency of the dough to be just fine (as long as... you chill it for at least a few hours, are patient while rolling it out, and remember to flour your cookie cutters). I baked them for just 10 minutes because as another reviewer noted, they firm up on their own as they cool. Thank you for a wonderful recipe that I will use for Christmases to come :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Not a bad recipe - I followed it to the letter. The cookies came out a bit too spicy for my kids to enjoy. For me, I enjoyed munching them with a nice cup of coffee. My kids prefer sweet so next time I'll try the golden syrup in place of molasses. The dough turned out OK and fairly easy to handle after chilling overnight. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ulomz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
this is old fashioned gingerbread at its finest. It held up to houses and baked up beautifully. Be sure to let it cool overnight in the fridge, I added a small amount of flour to roll the dough but it is very soft and easy to work with. Thanks for the great tasting cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great recipe for traditional gingerbread. You can really taste the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Used dark molasses. Tasted very good, although I had to add some water because it was so crumbly. It gets hard enough to build with. For frosting, I used 3 egg whites and 6 cups powdered sugar. For intense color, use color gel food coloring instead of liquid food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States