Gingerbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2000
I would not make this cake again even though it was very tasty. The cake crumbled into pieces with every slice. The recipes instuctions talks abouts "eggs", however there is only one egg in the recipe. I wouldn't know how to bind this recipe to make it stay together once baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
We served this light gingerbread with applesauce and whipped cream. Loved it! Not too strong/spicy for the kids, nor too "Christmassy" for use in other seasons. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
This is so light and yummy. I substituted golden syrup for the molasses, it has a much lighter taste. Sueie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
This is a great recipe. It was so easy to make and so light and fluffy too! I will make this again. Thank you so much. I used butter flavored Shortning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
The cake came out light, fluffy, crumbly and delicious. I followed the recipe except for using 2 eggs instead of one and baking in a tube pan. My husband says it is the perfect cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
just pure fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Hubby doesn't eat sugar, so I replaced the brown sugar and molasses with 3/4 honey. I also at least double the spices, because I like my food to bite back sometimes! It came out a bit light in color since I didn't use molasses, but was a hit, even cold the next day rather than served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I had already made my gingerbread men for the season, but every year the rest of the carton of molasses sits in the pantry until it gets icky, so I went on a search for a recipe so the rest of my molasses wouldn't go to waste. I liked this recpie immediately because it was suitable for a bedtime snack for my children, and wasn't another super saccharine cookie recipe. My 3 year old son and I worked on the recipe together, and we had such a blast! We used a 2nd egg, as another reviewer suggested so it was extra moist. It was so easy to make, and the whole time my son kept saying "Mm...this smells good!". Even with a 3 year old in tow, we were done in about 10 mins, and I wish I could bottle up the smell that wafted from my kitchen as it cooked! The cake didn't rise much, but it was moist and very good...my son asked for seconds! I agree with the reviewer who said it needed more spice..I would have been happier with a little more zip with some added cinnamon in the recipe. I made a glaze with icing sugar, and a hint of vanilla to drizzle on top. I will definetly tweak the recipe and try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was really good. Didn't have shortening on hand so I used margarine and had regular molasses. Turned out very good. I always add extra spices. We love it spicey. Thank you for the good recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This cake was super moist, but not very sweet at all. And a little bland actually. I think if I were to make this again, I would use an additional 1/4 cup of white sugar, and maybe a little more ground ginger. My husband thought it tasted like a weird steak marinade. Not the reaction I was hoping for. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States