Gingerbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is such an easy recipe! I put everything in my kitchenaid mixer, mixed, and poured it into my pyrex. It made my house smell amazing! I didn't put any powdered sugar on top, but it would be a pretty addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Serve warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I'm in love. I will make this very often. I didn't have shortening so I substituted with butter and doubled up on the spices because I don't think there is such a thing as "too much cinnamon & ginger".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I doubled the cinnamon and ginger for an added spice flavor and it was excellant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Marler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is the best gingerbread cake I have ever had!!! I used black strap molasses and the consistency was brownie like. I won't be making brownies much now that I found this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Perfect! I made it as a loaf instead of in a 8x8 pan and sliced it like banana bread. It took a little longer to bake but it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
great recipe and very easy to make. I doubled the ginger and cinnamon amounts and added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I also used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar rather than 1/2 cup of just white sugar. Couldn't find "light" molasses so I just used Grandma's original molasses instead; it works just fine. love this recipe and it will be a holiday staple from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made this gingerbread yesterday and really enjoyed it. I had company coming over and wanted something quick and delicious. This fit the bill. Following others' recommendations, I doubled the amount of cinnamon and ginger and added 1.5 teaspoons each clove and nutmeg as well. The result was a cake that was perfectly spiced. The aroma while baking was terrific. I also used a combo of brown and white sugars with the molasses. While others mentioned a dry cake, mine turned out wonderfully with a soft, moist texture. I did bake mine in a loaf pan but do not recommend it - the soft texture lends more to a cake pan than a bread pan. I had a slice with a cup of coffee this morning - the flavors are richer today. An excellent recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I changed to bake for 72 servings. No other changes were made and it was wonderful. Fluffy, moist and perfectly spiced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
i doubled the recipe & made two beautiful loaves. i added in a couple pinches of nutmeg, allspice, pumpkin pie spice, and cloves. will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I would like to make this receipe in minature size cake pans for Christmas give-aways. For anyone who has tried this receipe how long would you suggest I cook the cake in a minature size? Your feedback is appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States