Gingerbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I doubled the cinnamon and ginger for an added spice flavor and it was excellant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is the best gingerbread cake I have ever had!!! I used black strap molasses and the consistency was brownie like. I won't be making brownies much now that I found this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Perfect! I made it as a loaf instead of in a 8x8 pan and sliced it like banana bread. It took a little longer to bake but it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
great recipe and very easy to make. I doubled the ginger and cinnamon amounts and added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. I also used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar rather than 1/2 cup of just white sugar. Couldn't find "light" molasses so I just used Grandma's original molasses instead; it works just fine. love this recipe and it will be a holiday staple from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made this gingerbread yesterday and really enjoyed it. I had company coming over and wanted something quick and delicious. This fit the bill. Following others' recommendations, I doubled the amount of cinnamon and ginger and added 1.5 teaspoons each clove and nutmeg as well. The result was a cake that was perfectly spiced. The aroma while baking was terrific. I also used a combo of brown and white sugars with the molasses. While others mentioned a dry cake, mine turned out wonderfully with a soft, moist texture. I did bake mine in a loaf pan but do not recommend it - the soft texture lends more to a cake pan than a bread pan. I had a slice with a cup of coffee this morning - the flavors are richer today. An excellent recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I changed to bake for 72 servings. No other changes were made and it was wonderful. Fluffy, moist and perfectly spiced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
i doubled the recipe & made two beautiful loaves. i added in a couple pinches of nutmeg, allspice, pumpkin pie spice, and cloves. will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I would like to make this receipe in minature size cake pans for Christmas give-aways. For anyone who has tried this receipe how long would you suggest I cook the cake in a minature size? Your feedback is appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Definitely needs more spices than the original recipe calls for. I tripled the ginger and cinnamon, added freshly ground cloves, and substituted strong coffee for the water. Warm from the oven with an icing of natural yogurt, vanilla extract, cinnamon, and icing sugar, this was a lovely spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I love this recipe! I used softened butter instead of shortening, and I doubled all the spices and did a little extra baking soda. Also, I added about a half of a teaspoon of ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States