Gingerbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is the exact recipe I've used to make gingerbread for years. I've tried other recipes, but keep coming back to this one - it's my idea of perfect gingerbread. It's easy to make, with ingredients always on hand, and mildly spiced to please the whole family. I use Grandma's Molasses (which appears dark - I'm not sure what "light molasses" is). You can double the amounts of ginger and cinnamon if you prefer a spicier cake. This truly is "good old-fashioned gingerbread"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I doubled this and made some for my 96 year old Kentucky Granny. She loved it. And she has been cooking for 80 years, her approval is not given to just any ole dish. I added a lil' bit more ginger. Just a pinch more. My Whole family loved it.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Perfectly moist and light and fluffy and wonderful with a slightly chewy crust (I like the corners). The kids all raved on this. I added twice the ginger as I like it that way. Really a lot better than I expected. One of the best quick cakes I've ever made. No more brownies for us! **Note** I'm coming back to update my review. I just read the other reviews that talk about this cake being dry. I don't understand that. Perhaps they missed adding the water? Maybe they're cooking it too long? This truly is so moist that it is really a cake, not a bread. I've made it repeatedly and it's great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I just follow the cooking instructions and this cake turned out perfect.....just like my gramma used to make!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I had a spur of the moment christmas feeling, and needed a gingerbread cake, and this was the most compatable recipe I found- I substituted the water for orange juice, and both molasses and white sugar for brown sugar, and added ground cloves and nutmeg. Was absolutely delicious with an orange juice and sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISTIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
YUM,YUM,YUM! Perfect recipe. Quick, easy, delicious. I doubled the spices and used regular molasses. Sifted powdered sugar over the top while still warm. It's a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val's the Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I really enjoyed this cake. It was easy to make with ingredients I had on hand. I used regular molassas instead of light. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I checked the cake at 25 minutes and it was done. Maybe over-done? It is a touch dry. After cooling, when I cut into the cake, it was downright crumbly. I covered it overnight and now it holds together nicely, but it's still a bit dry. I doubled the spices and added 1/4 tsp cloves. It would not have been spicy enough for us otherwise. I think I'll look for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Easy and delicious! Next time I'll double the spices- they weren't 'punched' with flavor the way I like gingerbread to be. The dough should be refrigerated a little before working with it AND we added at least 1 cup of additional flour and should have added at least another 1/2c on top of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Good stuff (with my modifications). I doubled the ginger and cinnamon, added a half-teaspoon of nutmeg and a quarter-teaspoon of cayenne, substituted hot brewed coffee for the water, and sprinkled the batter with diced candied ginger. Yes, it is a little "cakey," but very moist and VERY flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States