Gingerbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I give this 5 stars because my bf loves this stuff. I think it needs a bit more spice. I make the lemon sauce from the gingerbread with lemon sauce recipe (posted on this website as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was a huge hit & would be SO delicious with vanilla ice cream. Taste like Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I love this. I make it all the time. I tend to up the water and molasses just a bit to make it a touch more moist. Thanks for this. It is a standard in my house now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
YUM,YUM,YUM! Perfect recipe. Quick, easy, delicious. I doubled the spices and used regular molasses. Sifted powdered sugar over the top while still warm. It's a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val's the Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
not good! its dry and sunk in the middle during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I read all the reviews for this recipe before trying it and decided to take other reviewers advice and double the spices. I also added 1/4 tsp cloves and substituted orange juice for the water. I wanted to use this bread in silicon gingerbread boy and girl cake pans for my kids to decorate. The cakes were a bit dry and fell apart very easily. I felt like something was missing, to me gingerbread should be more dense and it should hold together well. Maybe I will try making again with more butter. I frosted them with orange cream cheese frosting, YUM! Tasted good, kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
YUM. This is an excellent gingerbread cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSteggy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Easy and delicious! Next time I'll double the spices- they weren't 'punched' with flavor the way I like gingerbread to be. The dough should be refrigerated a little before working with it AND we added at least 1 cup of additional flour and should have added at least another 1/2c on top of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by CRISTOFERO
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
In my preivious review I said I would take it to work, and strangly almost everyone loved it. The Japanese are not really into spicy cakes but so many people went back for seconds and thirds. Some people could not eat a mouthful! I personally loved it, nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This bread is absolutely amazing!! I doubled the spices like the rest of the reviewers and made some substitutions to make it lower fat. I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup plain fat free yogurt (with a spoonful of splenda to sweeten it) and sub'd half the sugar with splenda. My gingerbread wasn't dry at all, but i only baked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States