Gingerbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
i doubled the recipe & made two beautiful loaves. i added in a couple pinches of nutmeg, allspice, pumpkin pie spice, and cloves. will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I would like to make this receipe in minature size cake pans for Christmas give-aways. For anyone who has tried this receipe how long would you suggest I cook the cake in a minature size? Your feedback is appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Definitely needs more spices than the original recipe calls for. I tripled the ginger and cinnamon, added freshly ground cloves, and substituted strong coffee for the water. Warm from the oven with an icing of natural yogurt, vanilla extract, cinnamon, and icing sugar, this was a lovely spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I love this recipe! I used softened butter instead of shortening, and I doubled all the spices and did a little extra baking soda. Also, I added about a half of a teaspoon of ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was quite good - i used butter since I did not have shortening in the pantry. I was a little more generous with the spices than the recipe called for, but did not quite double the., Also added a few shakes of ground cloves since my favorite gingerbread cookie recipe calls for that. I used this recipe to make the cake part of the gingerbread pear upside down cake on this site (instead of a box mix) - I used apples instead of pears (always have to adjust to what is on hand!) - great fall dessert - but make sure you have whipped cream or vanilla ice cream to top it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeezaG
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made this cake as the recipe states, with one exception. I only had dark molasses, so I replaced about 1/3 of the amount with clear Karo corn syrup. I thought this cake tasted good, but did not have the pronounced ginger flavor I wanted and I thought that it was just a little on the dry side. I served it with a vanilla custard sauce (I just used 1/2 my homemade vanilla pudding recipe and added more milk)which made up for the dryness. I think that more powdered ginger (or a little fresh) and maybe the addition of a little bit of yogurt or sour cream (1/4 C.?) would bring this up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is the perfect classic gingerbread recipe. I too doubled the spice based on personal preference. It makes a smooth, rich, mollasses-y batter (which I ate way too much of raw!) and an even more delicious cake. I served warm with homemade whipped cream. Christmas on a plate! Side note: this is probably much easier to make if you have a kitchen aid. It wouldn't be impossible with a handmixer, just labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I read many of the reviews and decided to try this cake exactly as it appears. And I'm glad I did. It is just what I wanted. I thought the texture was great as well as the taste. Mine was not dry at all. I don't think I would have liked it if I'd doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was so delicious and Christmasy! I frosted mine with a lemon butter cream, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Good stuff (with my modifications). I doubled the ginger and cinnamon, added a half-teaspoon of nutmeg and a quarter-teaspoon of cayenne, substituted hot brewed coffee for the water, and sprinkled the batter with diced candied ginger. Yes, it is a little "cakey," but very moist and VERY flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States