Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
The spice combination is perfect, though I think the texture is a bit spongey. If you are looking for a more cake like consistency then I would recommend cake or pastry flour instead of all purpose flour. I used just regular cocoa powder, not the Dutch variety and the leavening power of the baking soda seemed perfect. Overall a really fun recipe for decorating with sprinkles or whatever suits you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My 10 year old and 7 year old made this recipe. The cupcakes were a little dense but they rose nicely with round tops. We did not have molasses so we used honey and a touch of pancake syrup. We also, used cocoa and a pinch of baking soda for the dutch cocoa. We doubled the frosting recipe...very yummy. Frosting was perfect! Four plus stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Such a yummy cupcake and so nice during the holidays. I followed the recipe as written for the cupcake and they turned out great. Nicely domed, moist, soft, and yummy. Like others I used my own cream cheese frosting recipe but I added 3 drops of pure Lemon essential oil and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Well, there were good and bad things about this recipe for me. I used regular cocoa because baking soda requires an acid to react to and Dutch processed cocoa is alkalized (no acid). I noticed that another reviewer had made the recipe several times and on one occasion she needed to switch from Dutch processed to regular cocoa powder because she didn't have any of the former- and found that that time they did not sink as before- I think this may be the reason. What I liked: the strong molasses flavor and spiciness. What I wasn't crazy about: the texture- a teeny bit spongy, though they were moist enough. Also, I believe there is just a bit too much batter for twelve regular sized cupcakes-a couple spread over the edges of the pan. While mine didn't sink in the middle like others did, they were a little flat. Traditionally, gingerbread is served with a lemon sauce so I understand the addition of lemon in the frosting (of which there is just enough to put a thin smear on top of each cupcake), but I think *if* I make these again I will go with my standard cream cheese frosting-or homemade whipped cream- this frosting seemed to mask some of the ginger flavor. I do have to say that while I was not overly impressed, others did like these-before I added the frosting; I ended up scraping it off most of the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Tastes great, but these cupcakes were flat and fell apart completely when I took the liners off of them! I think the sinkhole in the middle could be solved by adding the baking soda to the dry mixture, instead of adding it to the hot milk, so that the reaction creating the bubbles happens *inside* the cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made these for Christmas Eve tomorrow and I tasted the batter and it tasted weird but I was like oh well. Then i tasted a cupcake with the frosting and it was spicy and is not kid friendly! If you like the fake gingerbread stuff then you will not like this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I took these to a party tonight and they were a big hit!. Moist and delicious. Mine did sink in the middle and spread over top of the muffin cups when cooking or I would have give it 5 stars. I used my own cream cheese icing recipe so I can't comment on that, but the muffins themselves are divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Very, very tasty. Just make sure to use paper muffin liners if making mini cupcakes, or else they won't hold shape and tend to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe was perfect. Usually I double the cinnamon and other seasonings, but I didn't have to with this. The muffins also turned out huge and they rose perfectly. I left off the icing and ate them like muffins with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These cupcakes were so simple, moist, and so yummy! They just scream HOLIDAY! So delicious, I definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States