Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These were good but not great. I don't think I would use the cocoa in them if I made them again and I think I would use more of the spices. I am going to keep looking for a better gingerbread cupcake recipe. I didn't use the frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These are wonderful!!A great change from the usual chocolate/vanilla flavors.I do use a little extra ginger and cinnamon and I put 2 whole eggs in,rather than the called for 1 1/2.Batter is quite thin,but before I put it into the cupcake tins,I let it sit for just a few minutes.It thickens a bit and is easier to handle.These are always a hit for the fall and holidays!!And you can decorate them so cute according to the seasons too.Some say these sink in the middle after they cool. I gently tap the filled muffin tin on the counter before going into the oven-like I do with any cake I bake-this removes the air in the batter....and I've never had them sink down any time I've made them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I've caught the cupcake bug that seems to be sweeeping the world and my family has added inches to their waistlines from my fascination with these yummy treats. I've made dozens and dozens of different types of cupcakes but it seems that these gingerbread cupcakes are the most delicious. They disappear so quickly that I usually double the recipe to satisfy the hoards. However, the other reviewers are correct, the cream cheese frosting recipe is flawed. Instead, try mixing 30g of butter, 80g softened cream cheese, 1 1/2 cups sifted confectioners sugar and 1 tsp grated lemon rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
These are amazing! They definately taste like a perfect, not-too-spicey gingerbread cookie. Can't wait to make these again and again, thanks Currie for the recommendation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I adore this recipe, 2006 I went on a cupcake rampage and baked dozens upon dozens of cupcakes...found this recipe and was an instant hit with the extended family!!! I try to make this most of the October - December season though sometimes treat the fam throughout the year!!! absolutly deeeeeeeee-licious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmalou082

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
These were excellent! The texture is wonderful. I've made cupcakes with this recipe and also a 9X13 cake...both turned out great. This was big hit at potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This recipe is awesome, and I'll definitely make it again! I followed some of the other user's comments and substituted a different icing recipe. It turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
i must have done something terribly, terribly wrong, though i am an experienced baker. i made these cupcakes, and i know they taste good because they were so tender, they fell in and they fell apart! the cake is too tender; i can't imagine attempting frosting on them as the outer edges have come apart! with so many giving these rave reviews, i have to figure i did something wrong, though i followed the recipe to a T. and now i'm left with 12 falling-apart cupcakes. back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I was a little disenchanted with the outcome. The batter made enough for more than 12....so some of the cupcakes baked well over the top, making it difficult to remove from the cupcake pan. While I love ginger and molasses, I just didn't love the flavor of these. Another reviewer had issues with the allspice (I agree) and suggested adding ground cloves (another idea I think would improve these). I substituted butter cream frosting for the cream cheese frosting, and that was the only saving grace. I found myself cutting off the bulk of the cupcake, and just eating the top (a more palateable ratio).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This turned out great for me! I was heavy handed with all the spices and added cloves. I used my own cream cheese frosting recipe, so I can't comment on that part. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States