Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
One word: amazing! I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the nutmeg and all-spice and added an extra few tablespoons of flour because I thought the batter was a bit too runny--but they came out beautifully! Only fill your muffin tins/liners about half full at the most because they rise A LOT. I used another cream cheese frosting recipe and sprinkled some green and red sanding sugar on top and these were the PERFECT holiday treat for friends, family, and co-workers! Thanks for sharing, Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
The cupcake recipe is incredible. They came out perfectly moist and I baked them the full 20 minutes. I didn't use the frosting recipe so I can't comment on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tolleson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I thought these were very good. The cupcakes turned out a bit flat, but look alright when topped with the icing. The lemon icing was a bit mismatched with the gingerbread in my opinion. I loved both separately, but together it was two contradicting flavors. I would suggest omitting the lemon extract for a nicer ending result. I will definitely make these again without the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The batter looked okay and tasted great after I added more ginger, but when I baked them they puffed up and ran over the sides and then collapsed. I live at high altitude, 5800 feet, and that may have had something to do with it...although I bake without changes all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
These were alright. A nice change from gingerbread cookies. I probably won't make them again though. The cupcakes themselves weren't that good. I didn't like the cocoa/gingerbread combo. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
These were yummy! The lemon frosting is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This cupcake recipe is phenomenal! It baked at 350 for exactly 20 min. and they turned out beautifully. I will be using them at a fundraiser. They were perfectly rounded. I did not use this frosting, but instead used "Decorator Frosting" from this website as another had suggested. I would absolutely suggest that frosting if you are interested in piping on this cupcake. The taste greatly complements this spicy cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These were good but not great. I don't think I would use the cocoa in them if I made them again and I think I would use more of the spices. I am going to keep looking for a better gingerbread cupcake recipe. I didn't use the frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These are wonderful!!A great change from the usual chocolate/vanilla flavors.I do use a little extra ginger and cinnamon and I put 2 whole eggs in,rather than the called for 1 1/2.Batter is quite thin,but before I put it into the cupcake tins,I let it sit for just a few minutes.It thickens a bit and is easier to handle.These are always a hit for the fall and holidays!!And you can decorate them so cute according to the seasons too.Some say these sink in the middle after they cool. I gently tap the filled muffin tin on the counter before going into the oven-like I do with any cake I bake-this removes the air in the batter....and I've never had them sink down any time I've made them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I've caught the cupcake bug that seems to be sweeeping the world and my family has added inches to their waistlines from my fascination with these yummy treats. I've made dozens and dozens of different types of cupcakes but it seems that these gingerbread cupcakes are the most delicious. They disappear so quickly that I usually double the recipe to satisfy the hoards. However, the other reviewers are correct, the cream cheese frosting recipe is flawed. Instead, try mixing 30g of butter, 80g softened cream cheese, 1 1/2 cups sifted confectioners sugar and 1 tsp grated lemon rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States