Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
these were good, I tried to alter the frosting, but still wasn't crazy about the frosting. It's a little gummy, but then I did use a tub of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherry Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I have made this recipe many times over the past year and a half and people love it! I have made my own alterations - sometimes it was difficult to get hold of the molasses so I often substitute them with 4 tablespoons packed brown sugar dissolved in a shot of espresso! Works great as a substitute. I have also made vegan versions with 2 tablespoons soy flour mixed with 2 tablespoons soy milk and I always substitute butter in my baking for non-hydrogenated dairy free margarine as it is more healthy. LOVE this recipe - it's so versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
YUM!! I also had to use yogurt and sour cream as it was what I had on hand - but it didn't matter! These are so good...but the icing needs some work. Probably should go with a better cream cheese frosting instead of the one listed with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
One word: amazing! I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the nutmeg and all-spice and added an extra few tablespoons of flour because I thought the batter was a bit too runny--but they came out beautifully! Only fill your muffin tins/liners about half full at the most because they rise A LOT. I used another cream cheese frosting recipe and sprinkled some green and red sanding sugar on top and these were the PERFECT holiday treat for friends, family, and co-workers! Thanks for sharing, Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
The cupcake recipe is incredible. They came out perfectly moist and I baked them the full 20 minutes. I didn't use the frosting recipe so I can't comment on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tolleson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I thought these were very good. The cupcakes turned out a bit flat, but look alright when topped with the icing. The lemon icing was a bit mismatched with the gingerbread in my opinion. I loved both separately, but together it was two contradicting flavors. I would suggest omitting the lemon extract for a nicer ending result. I will definitely make these again without the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The batter looked okay and tasted great after I added more ginger, but when I baked them they puffed up and ran over the sides and then collapsed. I live at high altitude, 5800 feet, and that may have had something to do with it...although I bake without changes all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
These were alright. A nice change from gingerbread cookies. I probably won't make them again though. The cupcakes themselves weren't that good. I didn't like the cocoa/gingerbread combo. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
These were yummy! The lemon frosting is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee Matthews
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This cupcake recipe is phenomenal! It baked at 350 for exactly 20 min. and they turned out beautifully. I will be using them at a fundraiser. They were perfectly rounded. I did not use this frosting, but instead used "Decorator Frosting" from this website as another had suggested. I would absolutely suggest that frosting if you are interested in piping on this cupcake. The taste greatly complements this spicy cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States