Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This really is the perfect gingerbread cupcake recipe. The cupcakes are light in texture and flavorful. I omitted the allspice, however, and used ground cloves in place of it. The frosting is perfect. The texture is heavier, like that on a Sprinkles cupcake. Also, the cupcakes are sweet, so the fresh tanginess of the frosting is a good complement. There is just enough frosting for a conservative layer on each cupcake, so if you plan on more decorative coverage, you'll need to at least double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I did not have Dutch processed cocoa powder so I used Hershey’s cocoa powder in its’ place. I followed the measurements and noticed the batter came together a little on the runny side. I filled each cupcake liner 2/3 full ending up with only 11 cupcakes. They rose up nicely while baking emitting a nice spicy, rich gingerbread aroma. The cupcakes were done in 16 minutes with a nice round shaped top. The gingerbread flavor is nice and the cake is moist and spiced right, not dry at all. The cocoa is subtle and not too noticeable. For the frosting I creamed together 4 oz. cream cheese, ¼ c. butter, 1 tsp. of fresh lemon juice instead of lemon extract, ½ tsp. of grated lemon zest and 2 cups confectioner’s sugar to get the desired consistency. The frosting is a light lemony flavor and sweetened enough. It is thick and creamy and spreads easily while holding up well. Together I think both the frosting and cupcake balances each other out well- adding a perfect touch of sweetness to the spiced gingerbread flavor. Next time I will make it a point to fill each cupcake liner a little less to make 12 cupcake servings. Overall a good holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
MOLASSES SUBSTITUTION Can the molasses be substituted for brown sugar or anything else. I live in Australia and Molasses is not particularly common in supermarkets here. :) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
taste just like a gingerbread cookie!!! instead of using the frosting given i used my cinnamon cream cheese frosting..sooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I just made a batch of these, following the batter recipe exactly as stated (I haven't gotten to the frosting part yet, and will probably use my own recipe for that). PROS: Great flavor -- just enough spice and molasses. Not too sweet, either, but clearly a cake and just right for pairing up with a sweet frosting. Also, very moist. CONS: None, really. I plan on adding this to my recipe rotation. Like another reviewer, mine baked up over the edge of the tin. And each ended up with a sizable dimple in the top. Not really an issue, though, since I'm covering everything with frosting. Besides, it's probably my fault for overmixing the batter or peaking before they were done. I checked mine at 16 minutes and they definitely weren't ready. Stick with the suggested 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Delicious! Great holiday treat! I didn't have any cinnamon and they still were tasty. For the frosting, I used 8 oz cream cheese, 2 cups of confectioners' sugar, 1/4 tsp lemon extract, per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These tasted really yummy, but when I baked them they rose & then fell & sunk in bad. They looked awful. Luckily I wasn't making them to take to anyone! They do taste wonderful though, so at least I can still eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Great gingerbread and spice flavor, nice and moist, but... I was very disappointed at how these rose - with flat tops, spilling out onto the muffin tin. Tried 'em twice too, thinking I may have done something absent-minded the first time. Not. They turned out the same way the second time as well. Like little hats with a brim, or maybe little flying saucers. I won't make these again for that reason alone. I didn't use the frosting in this recipe, preferring to use my own, which was a perfect match for these cupcakes: 4 oz. cream cheese, 1/4 c. butter, 2 c. powdered sugar, some grated lemon zest, and enough fresh lemon juice to get to desired consistency. I rated these four stars because Hubs loved them, but in my book I'd rate them only three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These were easy and delicious! I was very liberal with the spices. I doubled the recipe. I also used my own cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These were really good and easy to make. They were very moist; not dry at all. Did not make the icing...used another cream cheese icing recipe on this site and added a little allspice to it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States