Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
my cousin made these for christmas and they are delicious! the cake is really moist and the icing is not to sweet. the cake and icing are a perfect pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adialinofelix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were so delicious! I added an extra 1/4 tsp each of ginger and cinnamon. I got nice domes because I used the oven trick- bake at 400 degrees for 5 minutes, turn the heat down to 350 and bake until ready. They were perfect with cream cheese frosting, but they were so moist they could be eaten plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Cupcakes are wonderful! HOWEVER do NOT use Dutch process cocoa with baking soda; this is why many people's cupcakes dimpled. I used natural unsweetened cocoa powder and had no problems with dimpling. Like other reviewers, I also cooked cupcakes 16 mins; when I checked on them, they were done so maybe it depends on your stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I can't rate this properly as I messed it up by using brown sugar and just reducing the molasses. No good, it's still way too strong. I'd also reduce the nutmeg and allspice if I did it again as I felt these overpowered the ginger. Not great. Maybe better if you use white sugar as the recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I LOVE these cupcakes. I brought them to a Christmas party, and they were gone almost as soon as I put them on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
The cupcakes were very spongy which was nice, but without the cupcake liners I think they would have kind of mushed a bit on the cooling rack. I liked the flavour of the cake, but there was something off about the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This really is the perfect gingerbread cupcake recipe. The cupcakes are light in texture and flavorful. I omitted the allspice, however, and used ground cloves in place of it. The frosting is perfect. The texture is heavier, like that on a Sprinkles cupcake. Also, the cupcakes are sweet, so the fresh tanginess of the frosting is a good complement. There is just enough frosting for a conservative layer on each cupcake, so if you plan on more decorative coverage, you'll need to at least double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I did not have Dutch processed cocoa powder so I used Hershey’s cocoa powder in its’ place. I followed the measurements and noticed the batter came together a little on the runny side. I filled each cupcake liner 2/3 full ending up with only 11 cupcakes. They rose up nicely while baking emitting a nice spicy, rich gingerbread aroma. The cupcakes were done in 16 minutes with a nice round shaped top. The gingerbread flavor is nice and the cake is moist and spiced right, not dry at all. The cocoa is subtle and not too noticeable. For the frosting I creamed together 4 oz. cream cheese, ¼ c. butter, 1 tsp. of fresh lemon juice instead of lemon extract, ½ tsp. of grated lemon zest and 2 cups confectioner’s sugar to get the desired consistency. The frosting is a light lemony flavor and sweetened enough. It is thick and creamy and spreads easily while holding up well. Together I think both the frosting and cupcake balances each other out well- adding a perfect touch of sweetness to the spiced gingerbread flavor. Next time I will make it a point to fill each cupcake liner a little less to make 12 cupcake servings. Overall a good holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
MOLASSES SUBSTITUTION Can the molasses be substituted for brown sugar or anything else. I live in Australia and Molasses is not particularly common in supermarkets here. :) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
taste just like a gingerbread cookie!!! instead of using the frosting given i used my cinnamon cream cheese frosting..sooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States