Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Well, there were good and bad things about this recipe for me. I used regular cocoa because baking soda requires an acid to react to and Dutch processed cocoa is alkalized (no acid). I noticed that another reviewer had made the recipe several times and on one occasion she needed to switch from Dutch processed to regular cocoa powder because she didn't have any of the former- and found that that time they did not sink as before- I think this may be the reason. What I liked: the strong molasses flavor and spiciness. What I wasn't crazy about: the texture- a teeny bit spongy, though they were moist enough. Also, I believe there is just a bit too much batter for twelve regular sized cupcakes-a couple spread over the edges of the pan. While mine didn't sink in the middle like others did, they were a little flat. Traditionally, gingerbread is served with a lemon sauce so I understand the addition of lemon in the frosting (of which there is just enough to put a thin smear on top of each cupcake), but I think *if* I make these again I will go with my standard cream cheese frosting-or homemade whipped cream- this frosting seemed to mask some of the ginger flavor. I do have to say that while I was not overly impressed, others did like these-before I added the frosting; I ended up scraping it off most of the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Tastes great, but these cupcakes were flat and fell apart completely when I took the liners off of them! I think the sinkhole in the middle could be solved by adding the baking soda to the dry mixture, instead of adding it to the hot milk, so that the reaction creating the bubbles happens *inside* the cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made these for Christmas Eve tomorrow and I tasted the batter and it tasted weird but I was like oh well. Then i tasted a cupcake with the frosting and it was spicy and is not kid friendly! If you like the fake gingerbread stuff then you will not like this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I took these to a party tonight and they were a big hit!. Moist and delicious. Mine did sink in the middle and spread over top of the muffin cups when cooking or I would have give it 5 stars. I used my own cream cheese icing recipe so I can't comment on that, but the muffins themselves are divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Very, very tasty. Just make sure to use paper muffin liners if making mini cupcakes, or else they won't hold shape and tend to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe was perfect. Usually I double the cinnamon and other seasonings, but I didn't have to with this. The muffins also turned out huge and they rose perfectly. I left off the icing and ate them like muffins with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These cupcakes were so simple, moist, and so yummy! They just scream HOLIDAY! So delicious, I definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
A little dry, but didn't really keep exact time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakerTag
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Through my search of trying to find a soft gingerbread cookie, I stumbled upon this recipe. I was skeptical, but the reviews said it was good, so I decided to try it out. This recipe tastes just like gingerbread, only soft, exactly what I was looking for. All soft cookies had reviews about the cookie dough being crumbly, so I went with this. I made them in mini cupcake tins so I could have bite sized taste testers, and even my mother loved it, who isn't a big fan of desserts. Looking forward to sharing these with my co workers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
We all loved these cupcakes! I didn't have lemon extract for the frosting, so I used real lemon juice and it was amazing! I will make these again only next time I will tweak the recipe and fill the cupcake with a lemon curd filling. SO DARN GOOD! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States