Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I love this recipe even more so because it has NO diary--they just don't spoil and they last forever. If you don't like to eat gingerbread, decorate with them (they smell terrific) you can hang on your tree and when your hungry pick one and eat it. I got this recipe from my mother-in-law about 23 years ago. Been making it ever sice(except I don't use chocolate frosting nor any frosting). I give them as gifts and people LOVE them. The house smells incredible while I'm baking them. My kids and husband LOVE them!!! You can make them so many different ways, if you want a crunchy cookie make sure you roll the dough about an 1/8th of an inch (I prefer them that way--YUMMY!)--if you want a puffy soft cookie (like my son)roll dough 1/4 of an inch. These are the BEST gingerbread cookies. Don't know what that other person was talking about it being the worse gingerbread cookie--they are VERY wrong!!! TIP: use exactly 7 cups of flour and 2/3rds of water--no more--when rolling out dough make sure you flour your hands and dough a bit--it works PERFECT. Don't use water on your hands or on the dough-- when you bake then--ROCK hard cookies. Yikes! Follow the directions exactly--and you will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
These tasted OK but the texture was not what I expected - don't think I'll use this recipe again. I've had much better gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This was sort of a hit and miss--depending on the tastes of the reviewer! My mother wasn't fond of the flavor, but my husband, who doesn't like sweets, gobbled these down. The cookie was less of a cookie and more of a cracker in some ways--subtle flavors, not sweet. We chose not to go with the chocolate pre-bought frosting, though, and made powdered sugar chocolate frosting, instead. Still, chocolate didn't seem like the best add-on, so we went with the white powdered sugar frosting instead--it added the extra sweet that was missing. Loved the simple circle shape for these, though. Easy to decorate & a filling snack cookie--not too shameful to hand off to my toddler for a treat. Just don't expect sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This was my first try at Gingerbread. I have always enjoyed eating it in the past, so I thought it would be fun to make. This dough was very easy to work with and the cookies came out beautifully, but they didn't taste good at all. I wish I had taken some of the other advise and tasted some of the first ones baked and saved the work. WAY to much Molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I have had many people request this recipe. As with most cookie recipes it needed a little tweaking to get the right consistancy (a little water on your hands while kneading does the trick)but it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APPASSIONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
It's nice to find egg-free recipes, as my daughter is allergic. We made these today. Since I live in a dry, higher-altitude climate I only added 6 1/2 cups of flour, but it was too much for my KitchenAid mixer (never had that happen before!) and it was quite dry. Six cups would have been plenty. I added a fair amount of water until the dough would hold together, then refrigerated it. It rolled out quite well, and we had fun making 36 gingerbread men. I baked them 10 minutes and they're still soft. However, the taste is somewhat lacking. I hope adding icing and candy will help with that. Real butter instead of shortening might have helped as well. Overall, I don't know if I'll make this recipe again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I subsituted butter for the shortening and took them out of the oven a little early (I like very soft cookies) and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I have received rave reviews from other gingerbread fans this Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Followed this recipie to the letter and my husband says they are the most incredible gingerbread cookies he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
There is something wrong with this recipe! No eggs? I'm not certain, but it tasted so bad, I threw out the entire batter, after only baking 1 tray of the cookies! Martha Stewart has a great one - using eggs and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States