Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Followed recipe exactly. Molasses stinks and I have never used before so I thought the cookies would be nasty I was soo wrong! I didn't experiance any of the problems other people did. I used grandmothers molasses don't know if that matters though and butter flavored crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Made this with my 8 year old son, and while it was a great activity, most of the Gingerbread people looked handicapped because the dough was so sticky arms, legs, and heads were coming off left and right. Maybe it was because of the humidity, not sure. The cookie it's self had a good flavor, though I was not a fan of the texture. It was just... odd. Can't see myself making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Ok, to be fair? I have never made gingerbread cookies before. So maybe they are supposed to be impossible? I successfully made batch after batch of cookies and then attempted these. Dough was so very very dry. It was all crumbly. Even wetting hands you could only work with a tiny bit of dough at a time and it would break, etc. I managed to make one pan of little men. I made sure to take them out early. Really dry and floury. Which sticks because I had to buy the molasses, ginger, cloves and allspice... over $20 for those alone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe. It's from the 1963 Betty Crocker's Cooky Book and I've been using it for years. It makes lots of cookies and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I thought this recipe was amazingly good. It reminded me of the ones I ate as a kid at sanas village in jefferson newhampshire. A few additions made it perfect for me. I didn't use allspice but beefed up on the ginger, cloves and cinnamon. I doubled the asked for amount. And instead of shortening, I used real butter. Also, I rolled the dough out a little thicker. They puffed up great and are still soft and chewy days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
My son is in Kindergarten and they have been making and learning about gingerbread cookies. He was so excited when I made these and unfortunatly, he has not learned to say mine are better than the ones at school! It's all good though. I found the cookies very good and the dough was very easy to work with. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is now officially my favourite gingerbread recipe ever! To all my fellow bakers in Ireland (and the UK), do not fret if you can't find molasses: I use golden syrup and it tastes lovely - quite a sweet, almost toffeeish taste, but lovely all the same. Also, don't overcook. I'm a terrible for looking at them after the prescribed time and thinking 'Jayze they're a bit pale!' and whacking them back in for an extra five minutes but AVOID THAT TEMPTATION! It makes them tooth-shatteringly crunchy. Even if they look underdone, take them out of the oven after the given time. Other than that, they're perfect =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IthilienDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ennis, County Clare, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Why would I pre heat the oven for 2 hours before I bake these cookies? You should change the number of the steps around. #4 should say Pre heat oven to 350. Then #5 roll out cookie dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This recipe is great! It has the perfect flavor and an amazing scent fills up the kitchen! My mother, who normally isn't a big fan of gingerbread cookies, loved them as well. Make sure to flour your surface well each time you roll out the dough, as it can be VERY sticky. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I did not like this at all. I do not blame the recipe. I just did not realize how bad molassus smells and therefore taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States