Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe and suggestions but it ended up far too thick and virtually tasteless...won't be using this recipe again - sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andibear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
It was a great hit at the Christmas decorating party. Based on the other reviews I tweaked the recipe a bit. Instead of all the shortening I mixed it with half unsalted butter and shortening. Used 1 1/4 cup of molasses. And added a little over a teaspoon of ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are awesome cookies! They're the typical gingerbread cookies with a very festive, holiday flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The worst gingerbread I've ever made in my entire life! Molasses was way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Followed recipe exactly. Molasses stinks and I have never used before so I thought the cookies would be nasty I was soo wrong! I didn't experiance any of the problems other people did. I used grandmothers molasses don't know if that matters though and butter flavored crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Made this with my 8 year old son, and while it was a great activity, most of the Gingerbread people looked handicapped because the dough was so sticky arms, legs, and heads were coming off left and right. Maybe it was because of the humidity, not sure. The cookie it's self had a good flavor, though I was not a fan of the texture. It was just... odd. Can't see myself making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Ok, to be fair? I have never made gingerbread cookies before. So maybe they are supposed to be impossible? I successfully made batch after batch of cookies and then attempted these. Dough was so very very dry. It was all crumbly. Even wetting hands you could only work with a tiny bit of dough at a time and it would break, etc. I managed to make one pan of little men. I made sure to take them out early. Really dry and floury. Which sticks because I had to buy the molasses, ginger, cloves and allspice... over $20 for those alone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe. It's from the 1963 Betty Crocker's Cooky Book and I've been using it for years. It makes lots of cookies and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I thought this recipe was amazingly good. It reminded me of the ones I ate as a kid at sanas village in jefferson newhampshire. A few additions made it perfect for me. I didn't use allspice but beefed up on the ginger, cloves and cinnamon. I doubled the asked for amount. And instead of shortening, I used real butter. Also, I rolled the dough out a little thicker. They puffed up great and are still soft and chewy days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
My son is in Kindergarten and they have been making and learning about gingerbread cookies. He was so excited when I made these and unfortunatly, he has not learned to say mine are better than the ones at school! It's all good though. I found the cookies very good and the dough was very easy to work with. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States