Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Maybe I did something wrong, but these cookies were dry and tasteless. I felt like I was eating flour. Looks like I'll be buying my gingerbread men at the grocery store this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I thought these were really great cookies! They tasted great, baked well, and it was fun decorating them. Thanks for sharing. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwhatamess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this recipe as written. I bumped up the spices because I like spicy gingerbread cookies. The dough was super sticky, very difficult to roll and cut out. I ended up making drop cookies instead. They turned out great. I liked the flavor and soft, chewy texture. Next time I have to remember to cream the shortening and sugar before adding the other wet ingredients. I think that'll help with the stickiness and difficulty working with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
i made these cookies and they were the BEST!!!!! i decorated them with cream cheese icing and everyone loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolategirl1998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
A little strong on the ginger, I should have taken previous reviewers advice and used just half. On the plus side they hold their shape very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Delicious! And it's great that it's already vegan without having to make substitutions =) One note though: I think the preparation of the dough should be moved to the beginning since it has to be refrigerated for 2 hours prior to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe and suggestions but it ended up far too thick and virtually tasteless...won't be using this recipe again - sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andibear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
It was a great hit at the Christmas decorating party. Based on the other reviews I tweaked the recipe a bit. Instead of all the shortening I mixed it with half unsalted butter and shortening. Used 1 1/4 cup of molasses. And added a little over a teaspoon of ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are awesome cookies! They're the typical gingerbread cookies with a very festive, holiday flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The worst gingerbread I've ever made in my entire life! Molasses was way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States