Gingerbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These turned out great! Tasted wonderful warmed in the micro with a glass of milk. I hid them in the oven, and the next day I was preheating the oven, and could smell something burning. Yep, it was my cookies! I will make them again this christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmjm0315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Allegany, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hinsdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The taste was wonderful! But what an awful time rolling the dough out... I added a considerable amount of flour and that mostly did the trick. I also should have kept the dough in the fridge longer I think. However it made for great laughs with my mom whom I was baking with that day! Dough everywhere!! Hehe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Bradford
Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I followed recipe & they were perfect. I made mini gingerbread people, as some suggested I left them a little thick & coated with a glaze & cut up marshmallows. Did not last long on Christmas Eve!!! But I will say this; gingerbread dough is a pain in the *** to work with. Cut the recipe in half! T'was a difficult task with ALL THAT DOUGH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Bland. Dough hard to work with. Not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe was delicious and easy. The dough was very easy to work with and you don't have to double it to make a large batch of cookies. I rolled them thicker and baked them for 11 minutes and they had that initial crunch when you bit into them then were nice and chewy. I will make these again for sure. I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The cookies have a great flavor to them. Easy to make. If you don't want them to be quite so hard, though, I would take a little bit of time off the baking time. I only baked mine 8 minutes. I know Gingerbread is supposed to be crispy but I don't want it to break my teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I was able to roll these out and make some great shapes,,, i even frosted some. They had no distinct flavor. =( disappointing. The ones i put frosting on.. just tasted like frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
An ok recipe. I more than doubled the spice amount and still found it a bit bland - I'll likely quadruple next time. It's not overly sweet which I like. I found that I had to add a little extra water to get the right consistency (next time I'll try a bit more shortening). For those that complained of stickiness, I had to flour my rolling pin and table well to prevent sticking, but then didn't find it too problematic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I realized I used a self rising flour with baking soda and salt and I didn't add any baking soda as I figured that would do it. I should have read the other recipes first.Yes something wrong with the recipe, never have I had a bad recipe from all recipes...maybe less molasses?? Something isn't right. Really bad :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Great recipe, and simple. I doubled this and rolled 1/2 inch thick for a softer cookie. I will never use another. This one rocks! Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States