Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2000
I made this for Christmas for the entire family, and everyone loved it! It is delicious, and it does taste just like the ones in Williamsburg--great alone or with milk or hot apple cider. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who wants to make gingerbread cookies from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
It is wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2001
A delicious, lemon flavored gingerbread cookie. I mixed up the dough a week in advance (very easy) and refrigerated it . It handled beautifully. For my daughter's baby shower we made gingerbread babies. The pattern was styled after the Jan Brett character in the Gingerbread Baby story. Each baby was sported a frosting diaper. Young and old alike gobbled up these tasty babies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This is a good recipe for gingerbread. My sons's best friend actually offered me his weeks allowance if I would make them for him again! They were a little strong tasting for me but that could be the type of molasses I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I've tried many gingerbread recipes (including mom's) and found Mary's to be the best. It is always reliable, easy to cut and very tastey. I am practically in factory mode every christmas making huge amount of these cookies since it's sooooo popular at home and at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
When my husband begged me to cook and make homemade cookies from scratch for our Christmas dinner with his parents and I realized his definition of making it from "scratch" wasnt same as mine (Betty Cracker or Mac & Chz), I was bit nervous, but this recipe was wonderful! Being a newbie in the kitchen since now it's my duty since I'm a wife :), it made it very easy for beginners like me! Boy, have I wasted lots of food trying to cook from normal cookbooks! Not only was it my first try, these cookies were eatable and yummy!! It was perfect! Now my husband said I dont have any excuses that I cant cook from scratch. (For now.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
this was great! Even those who don't like gingerbread liked this recipe at our house. I think the lemon extract is the key! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Delicious! You may wonder why on earth I was baking gingerbread in August. My twin girls saw an episode of "Little Bear" where they were baking Gingerbread Men and they wanted to make some so I said, "Okay!" I think this recipe is really good! I used orange instead of lemon extract because the store didn't have lemon. The dough was very easy to work with and not too sticky. I added about 1/4 cup extra flour and then used more flour on the surface and rolling pin while rolling them out. I will definitely try these again at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
These are delicious! I find that cookie tastes are subjective and what is the "ultimate gingerbread cookie" varies from person to person. I like to know there are spices in my gingerbread and dislike overly sweet cookies. These are well spiced and with a nice solid texture. They definitely have a warm, cozy old fashioned feel about them. They also smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made these cookies with my 7 and 10-year-old granddaughters. The recipe was easy for the kids to follow, and the cookies came out great, even when I cut the recipe by 1/2 (so we wouldn't be at it all day). I left out the lemon extract, because they said "ewww", but I'm going to put it in next time. I thought the taste was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States