Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
These are delicious! I find that cookie tastes are subjective and what is the "ultimate gingerbread cookie" varies from person to person. I like to know there are spices in my gingerbread and dislike overly sweet cookies. These are well spiced and with a nice solid texture. They definitely have a warm, cozy old fashioned feel about them. They also smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I've tried many gingerbread recipes (including mom's) and found Mary's to be the best. It is always reliable, easy to cut and very tastey. I am practically in factory mode every christmas making huge amount of these cookies since it's sooooo popular at home and at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2000
I made this for Christmas for the entire family, and everyone loved it! It is delicious, and it does taste just like the ones in Williamsburg--great alone or with milk or hot apple cider. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who wants to make gingerbread cookies from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
It is wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2001
A delicious, lemon flavored gingerbread cookie. I mixed up the dough a week in advance (very easy) and refrigerated it . It handled beautifully. For my daughter's baby shower we made gingerbread babies. The pattern was styled after the Jan Brett character in the Gingerbread Baby story. Each baby was sported a frosting diaper. Young and old alike gobbled up these tasty babies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This is a good recipe for gingerbread. My sons's best friend actually offered me his weeks allowance if I would make them for him again! They were a little strong tasting for me but that could be the type of molasses I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
When my husband begged me to cook and make homemade cookies from scratch for our Christmas dinner with his parents and I realized his definition of making it from "scratch" wasnt same as mine (Betty Cracker or Mac & Chz), I was bit nervous, but this recipe was wonderful! Being a newbie in the kitchen since now it's my duty since I'm a wife :), it made it very easy for beginners like me! Boy, have I wasted lots of food trying to cook from normal cookbooks! Not only was it my first try, these cookies were eatable and yummy!! It was perfect! Now my husband said I dont have any excuses that I cant cook from scratch. (For now.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
this was great! Even those who don't like gingerbread liked this recipe at our house. I think the lemon extract is the key! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Delicious! You may wonder why on earth I was baking gingerbread in August. My twin girls saw an episode of "Little Bear" where they were baking Gingerbread Men and they wanted to make some so I said, "Okay!" I think this recipe is really good! I used orange instead of lemon extract because the store didn't have lemon. The dough was very easy to work with and not too sticky. I added about 1/4 cup extra flour and then used more flour on the surface and rolling pin while rolling them out. I will definitely try these again at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made these cookies with my 7 and 10-year-old granddaughters. The recipe was easy for the kids to follow, and the cookies came out great, even when I cut the recipe by 1/2 (so we wouldn't be at it all day). I left out the lemon extract, because they said "ewww", but I'm going to put it in next time. I thought the taste was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States