Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I thought this recipe produced great gingerbread cookies - and the quantity was large enough to take care of all my cookie-gifts for friends. I added loads of flour, though - maybe even a whole cup - the recipe should call for more flour, not make it optional. I used a bit of lemon zest since I didn't have extract on hand. And I substituted maple syrup for half the molasses, which probably improved the flavor, judging from others' reviews. Enjoy these cookies! Even with the extra flour they are soft, good for cutting with cookie cutters, and delicious. With many baked goods, it's important to mix all your dry ingredients separately from your wet ingredients, THEN add them together and mix JUST enough to blend. Overbeating after they are combined WILL result in a cardboard-like cookie, so be careful. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This was a good recipe. I've never made gingerbread before and found this to be an easy recipe to follow. The only thing is that it doesn't indicate to chill the dough for awhile and I discovered this from reading other recipes. After I chilled it, it was easy to roll out and cut into gingerbread men.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
These are delicious! I find that cookie tastes are subjective and what is the "ultimate gingerbread cookie" varies from person to person. I like to know there are spices in my gingerbread and dislike overly sweet cookies. These are well spiced and with a nice solid texture. They definitely have a warm, cozy old fashioned feel about them. They also smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
WOW...we LOVE this recipe. I chilled the dough for 1/2 hr. before rolling and also added the extra 1/2 c. flour. The dough is not "stiff" but if you're careful and patient you can roll and cut it. Sprinkle extra flour on rolling pin, rolling surface and top of dough. ALSO...for CHEWY COOKIES...cook only 8 minutes and/or roll the dough less for THICKER cookies. This worked great!!! THIS ONE's A KEEPER!! Sandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This recipe resulted in cookies that are very stiff. While other people say the cookies are "dense", I say you could break a tooth them. This recipe probably is a truly traditional gingerbread recipe, but I will search for something softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I thought this recipe was perfect. However, I added twice the spices to mine since some people felt it was bland. They came out perfect for me. Not too bland and not too overpowering. The cookie held up well for decorating and they smelled great when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci bakopoulos
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I ended up having to add a LOT of extra flour to get these to a workable state. I also only cooked them for 8 minutes at 325 degrees. That made a much softer, delicious cookie. I gave them as holiday gifts and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I've tried many gingerbread recipes (including mom's) and found Mary's to be the best. It is always reliable, easy to cut and very tastey. I am practically in factory mode every christmas making huge amount of these cookies since it's sooooo popular at home and at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Delicious, soft, chewy and moist. I also did not have lemon extract; I used imitation almond instead. And, I made them as drop cookies instead of rolling them. Both my kids loved them, as did the neighbors' kids. They asked for more! They also freeze well (mine were only frozen for a couple weeks, as they were in demand again!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redding, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This is a great recipe. I've used this recipe for 18 years now....wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States