Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I used the user's comment and added more cinnamon and substituted 1/2 of the molasses for maple syrup as well as more flour. I also put the dough into the fridge for several hours before baking. It turned out very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aiylan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I personally don't like gingerbread but i made the recipe for my friends little sister and she loved it. I must say I burned them a bit though. I won't keep them in as long next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I was very happy with this recipe. The flavor was excellent. I did have to make a few sustitutions for ingredients as follows- butter flavor shortening for margarine, half n half for evaporated milk and 1 T lemon juice for 3/4 tsp lemon extract. I found the softer dough from not chilling easy to work with. I made very large hearts out of this recipe and it was a little tricky transferring to cookie sheet but the end product is just what I was looking for - extra large tasty cookies to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very frustrated by this recipe. I added much more flour than listed and chilled the dough, but it was still too sticky to work with. For me, it was a waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faeriecat
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
After some tweaking, this recipe yielded excellent cookies. The first time I followed it to the letter and ended up with a sticky, bland mess. Definitely not enough flour, and we like our gingerbread spicy around here. So the second time I added a LOT more flour (like over a whole cup) to get the dough nice and firm so that it could handle shaped cookie cutters, and then I chilled it in a covered bowl in the fridge overnight. I also nearly doubled the amount of spices. These changes made all the difference, and the end result was a chewy, spicy, savory cookie that stood up to decorating very well and stored nicely too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I have never made gingerbread cookies and came across this recipe. I knew my girls didn't like a really strong gingerbread so I didn't add the extra spices but I did add the extra flour and they turned out perfect. Thank!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up adding a bit more flour. The key is to refrigerate the dough to harden it. Tasty cookies. I added icing on top. Could add more seasoning for stronger flavor but not necessary. Will use again. I gave it a "4" star because cutouts are more difficult and I like gingerbread but it is not my favorite cookie flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Such an amazing scrumtious cookie!!!! Soooo Soft! I refridgerated the dough for an hour - that way I didn't need much flour for rolling out. I made a batch a week ago and they are still soft and delicious! Everyone in my family has been raving about this recipe! Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Kolar-Landeros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroy, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
One minor change makes this recipe perfect- half the amount of molasses [blackstrap]. It makes an aromatic, spicy, robust and full-flavoured gingerbread with just the right amount of firmness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koifish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe was great! I made them for a Christmas get together and I have had many requests to make another batch for Christmas Day! Great job! I Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States