Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Changed: added 1/2 again as much spice & added 1/4 tsp grnd clove Taste: GREAT! Gingerbread Men: Awful! 375 is too hot for their little legs and arms which burnt before their bellies were cooked Better: cook at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I've made these cookies several times now and they are great! Not too soft, not to firm. I do add the extra fluor. My entire family loves them. My kids can be very critical and usually won't eat ginger bread, but they really enjoy these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I had to use the extra flour as well as refrigerate the dough to keep it from sticking. I also only cooked them for about 8 or 9 minutes at 375 and they came out chewy which everyone enjoyed. I prefer them to be soft, but everyone else liked the chewiness of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe was really easy to make. I didn't have any clove or nutmeg but increased (pretty much doubled) the ginger and cinnamon a bit to make up for the taste. I took the advice of other and put the dough in the fridge for a while before using it to make cookies. I baked my cookies at 350 for 10mins and they came out perfect! My friends really liked the taste and how soft they were. Along with royal icing, these were really tasty. I think I put too much ginger. There was a kick to the cookies that I think would be too hot for younger kids. Would use this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is my first time making Gingerbread Cookies! AND I LOVE THEM! THey are soft and with the right amount of spices. I added some decorations with royal icing and they are delicious. My 2 yr old son loved them. The only change I made was to add a dash of ground cloves & baked at 325 for about 7 min. Hope you enjoy as much as we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Excellent BUT remember bake at 325 NOT 375 for chewy soft gingerbread cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I followed the exact instructions and the cookies turned out horrible. I wasted my time and money baking these. I had to throw them all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I used the user's comment and added more cinnamon and substituted 1/2 of the molasses for maple syrup as well as more flour. I also put the dough into the fridge for several hours before baking. It turned out very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aiylan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I personally don't like gingerbread but i made the recipe for my friends little sister and she loved it. I must say I burned them a bit though. I won't keep them in as long next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I was very happy with this recipe. The flavor was excellent. I did have to make a few sustitutions for ingredients as follows- butter flavor shortening for margarine, half n half for evaporated milk and 1 T lemon juice for 3/4 tsp lemon extract. I found the softer dough from not chilling easy to work with. I made very large hearts out of this recipe and it was a little tricky transferring to cookie sheet but the end product is just what I was looking for - extra large tasty cookies to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States