Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is by far my favorite gingerbread cookie recipe ever! I added quite a bit of extra flour, probably almost 2 cups. Watch your baking time carefully! Cookies are done when you press lightly and the indent springs back. Cook these too long and they will be extremely hard. I love the full flavor and haven't changed a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Johnson Condon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. I didnt have the lemon extract so I left that out. I rolled the dough into balls and rolled in sugar to make drop cookies. Bake at 350 for about 15 min. for a chewy delicious gingerbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! I followed the advice of the other users and decreased my time to 8-10 mins, and decreased the heat 25 degrees. Other than that, I didn't chance anything else. It does take quite a bit of flour. I added the 1/2 cup suggested by the author, plus I used plenty while I was rolling the dough. I have no complaints. The flavor was fantastic, the cookies remained soft, and the recipe is easy. I will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
They were really good! I've never made any gingerbread cookes before, but they were great. Other people's suggestions were correct, it needed a lot more flour, perhaps an entire cup more. But over all, easy to make and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this recipe last year and everyone loved it. Very moist and flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
My husband, coworkers, and I really loved this recipe! I used butter instead of margarine, and ended up having to add at least an extra cup of flour. Even then, the cookies didn't hold their shape if I used cookie cutters, so I just made round cookies. Also, I only baked them about 8 minutes, so they were soft. To top them off, I made a cream cheese frosting which went really well with the flavor of the cookies. I'll definitely add this recipe to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Really great recipe. The cookies are delicious. I had to add a TON of flour and ended up just adding a little by hand and kneeding the dough before rolling some out. I only baked them for 8 mins and would recommend doing the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The first time i made these cookies I thought they tasted too molassesie. I made them a second time with just 1/2 Cup of molasses and they were perfect! Once we added frosting to the first batch of cookies it did cut down on the molasses tast but i do prefer them with less molasses. I will deffinatly stick with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was an odd recipe. I could not add enough flour to get it to a "workable" condition. I put them on the cookie sheet like chocolate chip cookies - in globs. It made for a very thick, very dense cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My cookie due was too dry (I may not have had enough molasses). I had to knead in some milk to save my dough. The cookies' flavor turned out good, but not as soft as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States