Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
They were really good! I've never made any gingerbread cookes before, but they were great. Other people's suggestions were correct, it needed a lot more flour, perhaps an entire cup more. But over all, easy to make and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this recipe last year and everyone loved it. Very moist and flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
My husband, coworkers, and I really loved this recipe! I used butter instead of margarine, and ended up having to add at least an extra cup of flour. Even then, the cookies didn't hold their shape if I used cookie cutters, so I just made round cookies. Also, I only baked them about 8 minutes, so they were soft. To top them off, I made a cream cheese frosting which went really well with the flavor of the cookies. I'll definitely add this recipe to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Really great recipe. The cookies are delicious. I had to add a TON of flour and ended up just adding a little by hand and kneeding the dough before rolling some out. I only baked them for 8 mins and would recommend doing the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The first time i made these cookies I thought they tasted too molassesie. I made them a second time with just 1/2 Cup of molasses and they were perfect! Once we added frosting to the first batch of cookies it did cut down on the molasses tast but i do prefer them with less molasses. I will deffinatly stick with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was an odd recipe. I could not add enough flour to get it to a "workable" condition. I put them on the cookie sheet like chocolate chip cookies - in globs. It made for a very thick, very dense cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My cookie due was too dry (I may not have had enough molasses). I had to knead in some milk to save my dough. The cookies' flavor turned out good, but not as soft as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
i too needed a lot of extra flour, at least a cup if not a cup and half to get the dough to be workable. i think it's because i had to add the extra flour that the cookies taste a little bland. i think i'm going to make another batch (as these aren't enough for my gift needs) and take the advice of doubling the spices. otherwise, not a bad recipe, just needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Absolutely Wonderful!!! I did take the advice of the other reviews and made a few changes. I doubled all of the spices as well as the vanilla. I used butter flavored crisco instead of the butter and 1/2 &1/2 in place of the milk. I also added a 5th cup of flour to the recipe and probably used another while rolling it out. I basted each cookie in powdered sugar water after it cooled and it kept them extra moist. I also put just a little butter cream icing on each one. YUMMY!!!! They were amazing. I made two batches for my husbands office and clients and they literally vanished. I wished I would have kept more for ourselves at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States