Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
They were really good! I've never made any gingerbread cookes before, but they were great. Other people's suggestions were correct, it needed a lot more flour, perhaps an entire cup more. But over all, easy to make and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this recipe last year and everyone loved it. Very moist and flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
My husband, coworkers, and I really loved this recipe! I used butter instead of margarine, and ended up having to add at least an extra cup of flour. Even then, the cookies didn't hold their shape if I used cookie cutters, so I just made round cookies. Also, I only baked them about 8 minutes, so they were soft. To top them off, I made a cream cheese frosting which went really well with the flavor of the cookies. I'll definitely add this recipe to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Really great recipe. The cookies are delicious. I had to add a TON of flour and ended up just adding a little by hand and kneeding the dough before rolling some out. I only baked them for 8 mins and would recommend doing the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The first time i made these cookies I thought they tasted too molassesie. I made them a second time with just 1/2 Cup of molasses and they were perfect! Once we added frosting to the first batch of cookies it did cut down on the molasses tast but i do prefer them with less molasses. I will deffinatly stick with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was an odd recipe. I could not add enough flour to get it to a "workable" condition. I put them on the cookie sheet like chocolate chip cookies - in globs. It made for a very thick, very dense cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My cookie due was too dry (I may not have had enough molasses). I had to knead in some milk to save my dough. The cookies' flavor turned out good, but not as soft as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
i too needed a lot of extra flour, at least a cup if not a cup and half to get the dough to be workable. i think it's because i had to add the extra flour that the cookies taste a little bland. i think i'm going to make another batch (as these aren't enough for my gift needs) and take the advice of doubling the spices. otherwise, not a bad recipe, just needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Absolutely Wonderful!!! I did take the advice of the other reviews and made a few changes. I doubled all of the spices as well as the vanilla. I used butter flavored crisco instead of the butter and 1/2 &1/2 in place of the milk. I also added a 5th cup of flour to the recipe and probably used another while rolling it out. I basted each cookie in powdered sugar water after it cooled and it kept them extra moist. I also put just a little butter cream icing on each one. YUMMY!!!! They were amazing. I made two batches for my husbands office and clients and they literally vanished. I wished I would have kept more for ourselves at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States