Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This recipe was fabulous with just a few minor tweaks: I doubled the spices and used brown sugar instead of white, butter instead of margarine, regular 2% milk instead of evaporated milk, and needed approximately 6 cups of flour instead of 4. I also refrigerated the dough for about half an hour before rolling it out and cutting it, and baked the cookies for exactly 10 minutes. The texture is fantastic and the flavor is beautiful and very nuanced. Next time I'll cut the lemon extract to just 1/4 teaspoon as I think it slightly overpowers the spices, but these cookies are amazing. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
this recipe worked out great, my daughter and I made them for her kindergarten class, the only thing was I didn't have any lemon extract, I added about 2 cups more flour, and used regular milk (had no evaporated milk...but it worked) I will definitely make these again very soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
A friend of mine made cookies just like these years ago and I had never had another like it until I made these!! These are so moist and fluffy my whole family eats them as we bake them! The ginger is not too overpowering and there is no vinegar. They are amazing with or w/o frosting and can be made thin and crispy also. We can never make enough to still have some in the morning with coffee! They just disappear!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I grew up on these cookies. I can still remember when I could go to Colonial Williamsburg and get them straight out of their stone ovens. The smell was amazing. Those were the best. Unfortunately they don’t do it that way anymore. When making these cookies you must remember these are intended as drop cookies not cut outs. I know in the directions it is done but, this recipe was never intended to be used as such, so frustrations with working the dough are understandable. For a simple traditional gingerbread cookie these are the best and smell amazing in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
These cookies were absolutely delicious and easy. I had never made gingerbread cookies before and was a little nervous. We loved these so much that we froze some for later!!There is nothing like the smell of gingerbread baking. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Vincent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was the first time I made gingerbread cookies and this recipe was very easy. It definitely needed more flour (at least another cup) and more spices. The cookies came out pretty good but too bland for my taste. I am going to double the spices like someone else suggested the next time i make them. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I was very disappointed in this recipe. The dough did not hold it's shape at all. I tried all the tricks in my book including more flour, and chilling the dough. It spread dramatically. I eventally ended up rolling the dough into balls dipped in sugar, and pressing out slightly with a glass. This made a passable cookie, but I was still saddened by the lack of cool cut outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is by far my favorite gingerbread cookie recipe ever! I added quite a bit of extra flour, probably almost 2 cups. Watch your baking time carefully! Cookies are done when you press lightly and the indent springs back. Cook these too long and they will be extremely hard. I love the full flavor and haven't changed a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. I didnt have the lemon extract so I left that out. I rolled the dough into balls and rolled in sugar to make drop cookies. Bake at 350 for about 15 min. for a chewy delicious gingerbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! I followed the advice of the other users and decreased my time to 8-10 mins, and decreased the heat 25 degrees. Other than that, I didn't chance anything else. It does take quite a bit of flour. I added the 1/2 cup suggested by the author, plus I used plenty while I was rolling the dough. I have no complaints. The flavor was fantastic, the cookies remained soft, and the recipe is easy. I will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States