Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
SUMMARY: Sticky dough that baked up nicely with great texture. Bland. Substitutions & Changes below: I doubled the spices, used brown sugar instead of white and dark Karo syrup instead of molasses. I also added an extra cup of flour, then refrigerated until stiff. In my 77 degree house the dough quickly became melted and sticky. Freezing it first helped somewhat. My m-i-l thought the dough was spicy, I found the cookie to be very bland even with double spices. (I think I missed the cloves and molasses.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Parrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
These are delicious, mellow... not a strong flavor, like a nice ''tea'' cookie. I made two batches, one as directed, one a bit switched & tweaked for my lactose-intolerant self - evaporated milk for lactose-free 2% milk & margarine for Smart Balance lactose-free butter ... I let the dough sit in fridge for 30 minutes before submerging them in the oven .. I couldn't stop eating the dough ;)~ Fancy recipe, superb I thought about adding some clove, but with a craving for gingerbread cookies stat and no visible clove in the store, I did without .. with the turnout still addicting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDIGOFLOWER

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Pretty easy recipe and the result was yummy. I would like to taste more spices so next time I'll probably add a bit more ginger and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was a hit in my office - all of the cookies (approx 36) were gone before lunch!!! First time making gingerbread cookies, I used suggestions from others and double the spices and had to add extra flour. Other reviews suggested to freeze dough before rolling out - this helped tremendously. Placed on parchment paper and backed for 8 minutes at 325 degrees. Perfecto !! I found that I had to use a lot of flour just to roll them out to avoid them from sticking and getting out of shape. Also found that the thicker the cut, the better it stayed in shape when picking up and placing on cookie sheet. I am making these again tonight for my daughters x-mas party at day care tomorrow. Used Royal Icing II from this web-site to decorate (added a few drops of lemon extract). Thank you very much for this recipe, this is going to be a nice tradition for my daughter (2 yrs) and me at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I thought these were great and made as the recipe suggested without additions. Very old fashioned tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblanch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. I had to add A LOT of flour! Probably twice the recipe amount. After baking them they tasted more like crackers and were hard. I only baked one batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Turned out soft and delicious! Tastes delicious with icing! Just can't get enough of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
The only thing I did in addition to the recipe, was refrigerate the dough 1/2 hour before rolling it. This seems to work with all of my cut-out cookies. Because of this, I didn't add additional flour like some other reviewers suggested. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Yes.... Do these. These are REALLY good. Double the spices, about 4 3/4 cups of flower and 1/4 tsp of lemon extract. The picky 5 year old liked them really well. Added some pink frosting from a can to make them "Ginger Girls". Also 325 degrees for 9 minutes at 1/4 think rolled dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This dough was a dream to work with! I only gave it 4 because I adjusted it and liked the adjustments. I upped the spices by 50%, halved the sugar and substituted the other half with the equivilent in powdered Stevia. I thought with the increased spices it was perfect. It's a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States