Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I give this 4 stars because I followed directions exactly and this is what the cookies deserve. For 5 stars, I will double the spices next time...then they will be perfect! Cooking time all depends on how thick/thin your dough is. I used mini cookie cutters and large ones and varied my times from 8-10 minutes. If you cook too long, they Will get hard so watch your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I tried this recipe today (dec 2010) and I have to say that reading the reviews helped a lot. I added 1 more cup of flour but I wish I had added a bit more spices but overall the cookies turned out great. We baked them at 325 for 8-10 mins and they turned out soft and chewy. We waited to add the extra cup of flour and the dough was too sticky. We also waited about 15 - 20 mins before rolling out the dough just from some of the reviews. Overall it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I had to add a lot more flour than the original recipe called for to make the dough. I also cooked the cookies for 8 minutes at 325. The results were some awesome cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I don't typically like gingerbread cookies but I used this recipe for my son's class. The cookies were delicious!! I didn't have much success rolling and cutting so I baked on my silpat like a cookie cake and cut out after it cooled. I even got a request from a student's parent because her son like them and he doesn't typically like gingerbread either. I used butter instead of margarine otherwise everything was the same! Thanks MBMCD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Perfect cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
After failing attempts at a couple other gingerbread cookie recipes, I tried this one. I guess 3's the charm! After reading the reviews, I decided to double the spices. I used butter, and I substituted 1/2 c. rice flour for 1/2 c. of flour. In the end, I had to add an extra 1/2 c. of flour, so next time I'll use 4 c flour & 1 c of rice flour. I did refrigerate the dough & brought 1/2 out at a time to roll. The rolling texture was perfect. I experimented by baking each batch for different times (8, 9, & 10 mins. each) @ 325. They all taste great, but I will see how they are when they are all completely cool. Tomorrow we'll decorate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These ginger bread cookies barely had any flavor and you definitely can't cook them longer than 8 minutes (the 12 min. batch is now hanging on my Christmas tree as ornaments). I'll stick to my Martha Stewart Gingerbread Man recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is some of the best gingerbread I have tried. I accidentally used 1/2 c of butter instead of 1 c and I think it worked better .... I didn't have to add as much flour that way to get the dough to consistency for rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I was nervous to try any gingerbread cookie recipe since the reviews are so polar opposites! Either people loved it, or vehemently hated it! I doubled all the spices and vanilla- I'm so glad I did. I probably could've gotten away with adding even more. I ran out of molasses, so I had to substitute... I used 1/2 Cup of melted piloncillo. I used the extra 1/2 Cup of flour the recipe suggested. Be aware that the cookie can turn out soft and cake-y, or totally crunchy, like a tea cookie depending on how long you bake it! Not only that, but they harden a decent amount as they cool. I wanted it somewhere in the middle. I found that baking it for 9 min at 350 got it hard enough to frost, but not to crisp my kids wouldn't like them. I haven't eaten a lot of gingerbread cookies before. These turned out good and were fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Fantastic recipe, made no changes. Made first batch as drop cookies because the dough tasted so good, and made a second batch to roll for cut outs. Did add about 1 cup extra flour per the recipe and was so nice rolling out. I don't like really strong molasses flavour, so used Fancy molasses instead of cooking. Makes a great cookie! Thank you! Our new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States