Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is a good recipe, just needed some tweaking. mix the sugar with half light brown and half white. substitute butter for the margarine and I nixed the lemon extract and put a little more vanilla in...the lemon did not work flavor wise for me? I also added in a half teaspoon of fresh nutmeg...cuz I loves the nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
came out kind of bland, i think the lemon extract took away the spice taste. might need to either not add lemon extract or add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe!!! Before I put them in the oven, I sprinkled a few sprinkles and out a few chocolate chips on each cookie and they tasted really good. I also made a few traditional ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I doubled the spices and used 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 maple syrup instead of molasses and they came out phenomenal. Even my friends who didn't like gingerbread chose these over the typical sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli
Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Had to add 1 1/4 cup flour to make the dough stiff enough. Also chilled it for an hour. Decent cookies but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I would have given this recipe 5 stars if it called for enough flour, but I had to add another whole cup. It was like cake batter before that. I rolled my cookies into 1-inch balls, then rolled them in demerara sugar and slightly pressed them with the bottom of a juice glass. Had intended to frost them, but my 8-year old son asked that I not frost them because they were "perfect as they are, and frosting would ruin them"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I slightly edited this recipe so I could share a few bits with my dogs. I substituted half the white sugar for packed brown sugar, used 1 1/2 tsp allspice in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg (bad for dogs!!) and had to add a lot of flour (about 2-3 cups) to make it a nice dough. Without the extra flour, it was little more than a mush. I also popped it into the fridge for about an hour before rolling and cutting. 8 minutes at 375 makes a soft chewy cookie and they were all gone in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I gave this a four instead of a five because I had to add about 3 extra cups of flour when making it. Besides that it was a wonderful recipe. I loved the taste and texture of these cookies. I will definitely be using this recipe again! Oh and I bought and used lemon extract and was super happy I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was my first gingerbread recipe to try. I was quite pleased with how easy it was and it's is also super tasty. I made a 1/2 batch for testing. I think I may try the 1/2 sub maple syrup on the next batch, I think mostly just because I can't stand the smell of uncooked molasses. I agree that the optional 1/2 c flour should be mandatory, it is definitely needed. I refrigerated only for about 30 min to 1 hr. I ended up rolling the dough out thicker(almost 1/2 inch) and we liked those cookies much more than the thinner ones. The thick ones had the perfect amount of softness, I baked them for about 8-10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These cookies taste good, but are not gingerbready enough for me. I think they need more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States