Gingerbread Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jim
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I had never made gingerbread like this before. Like others here I needed the extra flour to make the dough less sticky. I also chilled the dough for about 1.5 hours while I did something else; that helped a lot. I also added more of the spices than the recipe called for. The cookies came out beautifully. Very soft and flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo.Davies
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I'm very happy with these gingerbread cookies! My first attempt making gingerbread and it was quick & easy. I did add the extra flour. I did not freeze dough before rolling and had no issues cutting the Christmas shapes out, just make sure to keep flouring dough and rolling pin! Plain or decorated my children love eating these and since the recipe made about 60+ cookies there are more than enough in one batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I have tried making gingerbread cookies with other recipes and my cookies grew so much. What I really liked about this recipe is that my cookies remained almost the same size as the cut shape. This recipe got four stars from me because I used another person's suggestion of doubling the spices and it was perfect once I did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Joy Nyuli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Not very good. Had to use a full cup more flour, in a recipe that I had already cut in half ! Just so it would not stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
stores well in fridge when properly wrapped for at least a week too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This recipe is outstanding, with Can Milk, and not the egg, seem to make a big difference.. And if you check other recipe,you would see less sugar and less butter or they used shortening. I did chill it,to set flavor,and when rolling out had to add a little flour so it would be easier to roll.. will be added to my favorites, love them nice and soft..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnhairdo2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv_2_Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
My sister and I made this recipe and absolutely loved it! We used about 3 cups more of flour and reduced the baking time to about 7.5 minutes. The cookies were so soft and tasted delicious! I highly recommend using this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Doubled the spices as someone else suggested, and they turned out wonderful. Some complained that they were too dry, but I thought they turned out a nice texture as long as you do not re-roll the dough more than twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States