Gingerbread Cookie Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I made a batch for my family and I did add the 1 Tablespoon of vinegar as was recommended and they came out perfect… so I then proceeded to make 12 more jars for Christmas gifts. They are amazing! I handed them out yesterday, and I’ve already received five phone calls asking for the specifications to the measurements so more could be made. I compressed everything when measuring and added the flour mixtures in the jar about a ½ cup at a time, and there was plenty of room to spare at the top. Just be sure to watch them in the oven, and check on them... for ours, they were done in aproximately 9-10 minutes. Also, if you are making many jars of this recipe, as I did, I found that about four jars takes up roughly one 5 pound bag of flour (with about 1-1/2 C left over) and roughly one 2 pound bag of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
My daughter loved these cookies. I reduced the cloves to half a teaspoon, because I thought it would be too spicy and I added 1 tablespoon of vinegar which kept the dough from being crumbly. I burnt one batch and they were hard as a rock so be careful not to cook for longer then 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I am giving it out this year in bags! (Added the vinegar to mine too) HERe is a poem I am going to attach with a cookie cutter.Credit to Me (Madeleline McJones mom in the hat) And It happened this way, they will all come to say That mom was cooking, some cookies that day And her daughter was helping, as daughters will do And the cookies were making baking smells too The daughter said something, She said something loud and she said it quite clear. She said “This is the best day I have had all year!” Those few simple words on that baking day Surprised mommy so, she did not know what to say That moment had caught that mom off guard, But since she was busy she did not think on it to hard. Those words that had came out sounded so sincere That mommy replied, “I am proud of you, dear” But from that moment on, to this very day Mommy planned on giving cookie cutters away. So she had been shopping and shopping On, you guessed it, EBAY! So here you go, you may get one or two They my be dingy and old, they may be shiny and new But either way they will make cookies for you Find yourself a friend, any toddler will do Then cook up some cookies, They are good for you! They do not come from a box, a bag, or a store And they do take some time and make a mess on the floor But if you are lucky your partner may say Those words that make that mommy cry to this very day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I made this for Christmas gifts. I added a little copper cookie-cutter tied on with raffia. I baked some myself to be sure it was good and they turned out great! I will likely make them again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Delicious gingerbread cookies! The best I've had. Fun to make too. I took other people's suggestion and added the tablespoon of vinegar and they weren't one bit crubly. They stayed fresh tasting and chewing for over a week! I was shocked. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
The dough was a little harder to work with than hoped, but the taste and smell of these soft cookies are fantastic! For perfect softness, cover with a cloth as they cool until just warm. Then transfer to zipper lock bags or airtight container with a slice of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGMOMSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
THIS WAS NOT THE BEST RECIPE. THE DOUGH WAS VERY DRY AND CRUMBLY, AND THE COOKIES WERE VERY HARD. I ADJUSTED THE TIMING SHORTER, THEY WERE BETTER, BUT I WILL CONTINUE TO LOOK FOR OTHER GINGERBREAD RECIPES. MICH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I made this recipe for everyone I knew for Christmas presents and they all LOVED it. I got so many compliments and requests for the recipe. The best part was the spices mixture being on top, as soon as you open the jar it smells wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Not a good dough, dry and crumbly. After refrigerating could not even make a ball of dough in my hands. Ended up adding, gradually, almost 3/4 cup of water! Kids were frustrated that the reciple didn't work. Cookies were so dry they baked fast, taste is so-so. Will search for better, moister, easier gingerbread cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I gave these as gifts and everyone raved about them. They are very fun to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States